TERA



5. .

NRC PUBLIC DOCUMENT BOOM UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

August 1, 1979

Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esg., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. E. Leonard Cheatum Route 3, Box 350A Watkinsville, Georgia 30677

Mr. Gustave A. Linenberger Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of Houston Lighting & Power Company (Allens Creek Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1) Docket No. 50-466

Gentlemen:

The NRC Staff has received eight letters in the captioned matter which request participation in this proceeding, but do not comply with the Commission's rules regarding intervention as a party. The requesters are: Helen Foley, Ron Waters, John and Jeanette Beverage, Mary L. Fuller, Pat Erichson, Abraham Davidson, Susan S. McGuire, and Frances Pavlovic. Since the letters do not make clear whether full intervention or limited appearance is desired by the writers, the Staff requests that the Board seek clarification from the individuals involved. For their information, we have enclosed copies of 10 CFR Part 2, the Commission's Rules of Practice, with service of this letter to the persons named above. If they wish to inquire about the methods available to participate in Commission proceedings, they may contact the undersigned at (301) 492-8656.

Sincerely.

ellen & Mudher

Colleen P. Woodhead Counsel for NRC Staff

Enclosure: As Stated

cc: See Page 2



1012 272

G

cc: (w/o enclosure) R. Gordon Gooch, Esq. J. Gregory Copeland, Esq. Jack Newman, Esq. Richard Lowerre, Esq. Hon. Jerry Sliva Hon. John R. Mikeska Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docketing and Service Section Mr. John F. Doherty Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. Framson Mr. F. H. Potthoff, III D. Marrack Mr. Jean-Claude De Bremaecker Jonathan Kamras Gayle De Gregori Mrs. W. S. Cleaves Vesta Eidman Carro Hinderstein Texas Public Interest Research Group, Inc. Brenda A. McCorkle Mr. Wayne Rentfro Ms. Kathryn Hooker National Lawyers Guild Mrs. Karen L. Stade Jon D. Pittman, Sr. Ms. Ann Wharton Ms. Kathy Mohnke Mr. James H. Robinson Ms. Bonny Wallace Mr. and Mrs. Bruce A. Palmiter Dr. Marlene R. Warner Mr. Eugene E. Mueller Mr. William J. Schuessler Dick Day Niami Hanson Mr. Robert C. Kuehm Ms. Dana Erichson Ms. Nancy L. Durham

POOR

ORIGINAL

· · · ·

cc: (w/enclosure) Helen Foley Ron Waters John Beverage Jeanette Beverage Mary L. Fuller Pat Erichson Abraham Davidson Susan S. McGuire Frances Pavlovic

1012 273

- 2 -