The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Madam Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year 2018." This submission is in accordance with Section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended (Public Law 93-438), and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report abnormal occurrences (AOs) to Congress annually. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety.

The NRC initially issued the AO criteria in a policy statement that the Commission published in the *Federal Register* (FR) on February 24, 1977 (42 FR 10950). The criteria was revised several times in subsequent years. The most recent revision to the AO criteria, published in the *Federal Register* on October 2, 2017 (82 FR 45907), established the criteria that the NRC uses to define AOs for the purpose of the enclosed report, as set forth in Appendix A to that report.

The enclosed AO report for fiscal year 2018 describes three events involving NRC licensees and eight events involving Agreement State licensees. Nine AOs were medical events, as defined in NRC regulations, one AO occurred during radiography operations, and one AO pertains to a stolen industrial radiography camera.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John A. Barrasso
Chairman, Committee on Environment and
Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public
Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Greg Walden

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative John Shimkus

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and
Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein