DEC 29 1981

Docket No. 50-281

Mr. R. H. Leasburg, Vice President Nuclear Operations Virginia Electric and Power Company Post Office Box 26666 Richmond, Virginia 23261

Docket
NRC PDR
L PDR
TERA
NSIC
ORB#1 Rdg
DEisenhut
OELD
IE-3
ACRS-10
DNeighbors
CParrish
SVarga
Gray File

DISTRIBUTION

Dear Mr. Leasburg:

By letter dated October 29, 1981, as supplemented November 30, 1981, you requested an exemption from the requirements of Appendix J (III.A.6.b) for Surry Power Station, Unit No. 2.

These requirements are as follows:

"If two consecutive periodic Type A tests fail to meet the acceptance criteria, a Type A test shall be performed at each plant shutdown for refueling or approximately every 18 months, whichever occurs first, until two consecutive Type A tests meet the acceptance criteria."

Your basis for requesting the exemption was that the 1976 test was classified a failure because the 1971 proposed Appendix J was used and that the 1980 test failure was due to a construction related deficiency. You believe that these failures were technically insignificant and that, with an appropriate corrective action plan, the containment capability would not be compromised by the one time exemption from the Appendix J requirements.

The purpose of the Appendix J requirement in III.A.6.b is to encourage licensees to demonstrate that containment integrity is maintained during reactor operation. By failing to do so, more frequent testing is required. Based on our review of the 1976 and 1980 Type A tests for Surry Station, Unit No. 2, we conclude that both the 1976 and 1980 Type A tests should be considered failures. Consequently, your request for exemption is denied.

8201200088 811229 PDR ADDCK 05000281 PDR Sincerely, Original signed by Darrell G. Eisenburg

Darrell G. Eisenhut, Director Division of Licensing

cc: See next page

			<u> </u>		,		
OFFICE .	ORB#1:84)	ORB#1:EL	AD OR DL	D/DLS	ORB#1 X		
SURNAME D	DNeighbors	8Vay ga	TNOVak	DETSenHut	C. PARRISH		
DATE &	12/7/81:ds	12/1/1/81	12/2//81	12 力(// 81	12/14/8/	·	
DAIL			9	<u> </u>			

Mr. R. H. Leasburg Virginia Electric and Power Company

cc: Mr. Michael W. Maupin Hunton and Williams Post Office Box 1535 Richmond, Virginia 23213

> Mr. J. L. Wilson, Manager P. O. Box 315 Surry, Virginia 23883

Swem Library College of William and Mary Williamsburg, Virginia 23185

Donald J. Burke, Resident Inspector Surry Power Station U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 166 Route 1 Surry, Virginia 23883

Mr. Sherlock Holmes, Chairman Board of Supervisors of Surry County Surry County Courthouse, Virginia 23683

Commonwealth of Virginia Council on the Environment 903 Ninth Street Office Building Richmond, Virginia 23219

Attorney General 1101 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

Mr. James R. Wittine Commonwealth of Virginia State Corporation Commission Post Office Box 1197 Richmond, Virginia 23209

Regional Radiation Representative EPA Region III Curtis Building - 6th Floor 6th and Walnut Streets Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106 Mr. J. H. Ferguson Executive Vice President - Power Virginia Electric and Power Company Post Office Box 26666 Richmond, Virginia 23261