

South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

January 17, 2018 NOC-AE-18003543

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

> South Texas Project Units 1 and 2 Docket Nos. STN 50-498, STN 50-499 Errata Sheet

References: Letter from Michael P. Murray to NRC Document Control Desk, "No Active Safety

Function Anchor Darling Double Disc Gate Valves," NOC-AE-18003538, dated

January 3, 2017. (ML18003B418)

STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) correspondence NOC-AE-18003538 dated January 3, 2017 was distributed with an incorrect date of issuance. The attached correspondence contains the letter with the corrected issuance date, i.e. January 3, 2018.

Note that the corrected letter has been resigned and is provided as a replacement for the first submittal in its entirety.

There are no commitments in this letter.

Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact Rafael Gonzales at 361-972-4779.

Michael P. Murray

Manager, Regulatory Affairs

RJG

Attachment: Corrected Letter

STI: 34591414

CC:

(paper copy)

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1600 East Lamar Boulevard Arlington, TX 76011-4511

Lisa M. Regner Senior Project Manager U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North (O8H04) 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

NRC Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116
Wadsworth, TX 77483

(electronic copy)

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP Paul Bessette

<u>U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission</u> Lisa M. Regner

NRG South Texas LP Mark Walker Jim von Suskil Skip Zahn

CPS Energy Kevin Pollo Cris Eugster L. D. Blaylock

City of Austin Elaina Ball John Wester

Texas Dept. of State Health Services
Helen Watkins
Robert Free



South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

January 3, 2018 NOC-AE-18003538

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

South Texas Project Units 1 and 2 Docket Nos. STN 50-498, STN 50-499 No Active Safety Function Anchor Darling Double Disc Gate Valves

References:

- 1) Letter from Greg Krueger (NEI) to John Lubinski, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Anchor Darling Double Disc Gate Valve Industry Resolution Plan Update (Project 689), dated August 4, 2017
- 2) Letter from Joe Pollock (NEI) to Brian Holian, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, NSIAC Concurrence on Anchor Darling Double Disc Gate Valve Industry Response Actions (Project 689), dated October 26, 2017

In Reference 1, the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) provided the NRC a resolution plan for the U.S. Nuclear Industry to address the known Anchor Darling Double Disk Gate Valve (ADDDGV) issues. Reference 2 indicated each utility will provide a listing of their Anchor Darling valve population with active safety functions along with relevant valve information, including the results of susceptibility evaluations, repair status, and a repair schedule for each susceptible valve not yet repaired. Reference 2 also stated that utilities or sites without active safety function Anchor Darling DDGVs would also provide a response.

This letter serves to confirm that South Texas Project Units 1 and 2 do not use Anchor Darling DDGVs to support any active safety function.

There are no commitments in this letter.

Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact Jimmie Richey at 361-972-7622.

Respectfully,

Michael P. Murray

Manager of Regulatory Affairs

STI: 34587213

CC:

(paper copy)

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1600 East Lamar Boulevard Arlington, TX 76011-4511

Lisa M. Regner Senior Project Manager U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North (O8H04) 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

NRC Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116 Wadsworth, TX 77483 (electronic copy)

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP Paul Bessette

<u>U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission</u> Lisa M. Regner

NRG South Texas LP Mark Walker Jim von Suskil Skip Zahn

CPS Energy Kevin Pollo Cris Eugster L. D. Blaylock

City of Austin Elaina Ball John Wester

Texas Dept. of State Health Services
Helen Watkins
Robert Free