Mr. W. R. Robinson, Vice President Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 165 - Mail Code: Zone 1 New Hill, North Carolina 27562-0165

SUBJECT: SHEARON HARRIS NUCLEAR POWER PLANT, UNIT 1 - WITHDRAWAL OF AN AMENDMENT REQUEST (TAC NO. M91722)

Dear Mr. Robinson:

By letter dated March 3, 1995, you applied for an amendment to the Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant, Unit 1, Operating License No. NPF-63. The proposed change would have modified the facility technical specifications pertaining to the elimination of periodic response time testing for selected pressure and differential pressure sensors in certain Reactor Trip System and Engineered Safety Features Actuation System instrumentation channels. Subsequently, by letter dated July 23, 1996, you withdrew the amendment request.

The Commission has filed the enclosed Notice of Withdrawal of Application for Amendment to Facility Operating License with the Office of the Federal Register for publication.

Sincerely,

(Original Signed By)

Ngoc B. Le, Project Manager Project Directorate II-1 Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-400

Enclosure: Notice of Withdrawal

cc w/encl: See next page

<u>Distribution</u>

Docket File	S. Varga	ACRS
PUBLIC	J. Zwolinski	•
PDII-1 RF	OGC	

FILENAME - G:\HARRIS.WIL

OFFICE	LA:PDII-1	PM:PDII-1	D:PDILTR	1 <sup>1</sup> t	
NAME	Dunnington	The Tole	EImbro Lor		
DATE	8/7/96	8 17 196	8.17196		
СОРҮ	(Yes/No	Yes/No	(Yes/No		

9608130273 960807 PDR ADUCK. 05000400 PDR PDR

NRC FILE CENTER COPY

DEDIV

, AA3

• • • • • • •

•

ka k

.

• •

Mr. W. R. Robinson Carolina Power & Light Company

cc:

Mr. William D. Johnson Vice President and Senior Counsel Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 1551 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Resident Inspector/Harris NPS c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 5421 Shearon Harris Road New Hill, North Carolina 27562-9998

Ms. Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General State of North Carolina Post Office Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Public Service Commission State of South Carolina Post Office Drawer 11649 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta St., N.W. Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Mr. Dayne H. Brown, Director Division of Radiation Protection N.C. Department of Environmental Division of Radiation Protection Commerce & Natural Resources Post Office Box 27687 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7687

Mr. J. Cowan Manager Nuclear Services and Environmental Support Department Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 1551 - Mail OHS7 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. Bo Clark Plant General Manager - Harris Plant Carolina Power & Light Company Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant P.O. Box 165 New Hill, North Carolina 27562-0165 Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant Unit 1

Mr. J. W. Donahue Director of Site Operations Carolina Power & Light Company Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant Post Office Box 165, MC: Zone 1 New Hill, North Carolina 27562-0165

Mr. Robert P. Gruber Executive Director Public Staff NCUC Post Office Box 29520 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626

Chairman of the North Carolina Utilities Commission Post Office Box 29510 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0510

Mr. T. D. Walt Manager, Regulatory Affairs Carolina Power & Light Company Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant P. O. Box 165, Mail Zone 1 New Hill, North Carolina 27562-0165

Mr. Vernon Malone, Chairman Board of County Commissioners of Wake County P. O. Box 550 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Ms. Uva Holland, Chairman Board of County Commissioners of Chatham County P. O. Box 87 Pittsboro, North Carolina 27312

Mr. Milton Shymlock U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Comm. 101 Marietta Street, N.W. Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323-0199