Docket No. 50-443

Mr. T. C. Feigenbaum, President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire P. O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

Subject: 10 CFR 50.54(p) SUBMITTAL FOR SEABROOK STATION

This is in response to your letter of March 18, 1991, regarding changes to the Seabrook Station Safeguards Contingency Plan identified as Revision 3.

We have reviewed the submitted changes and have determined that they are consistent with the provisions of 10 CFR 50.54(p) and are acceptable for inclusion in the Plan except for Section 3.6.3, Arms, Ammunition and Equipment, on Page 69. This Section omits equipment required by 10 CFR 73, Appendix B, Criterion I.A.5.(b) and (e). With respect to this item you should comply with your previously approved plan and submit corrected plan pages as necessary to maintain plan continuity.

The enclosures to your letter contained Safeguards Information of a type specified in 10 CFR 73.21 and are being withheld from public disclosure.

Should there be any questions concerning this matter, please contact the NRC reviewer, Mr. D. Limroth (215-337-5121).

Sincerely,

Original Signed By:

James H. Joyner

James H. Joyner, Chief Facilities Radiological Safety and Safeguards Branch Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards

cc: See Next Page

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

50.54P SEA SC REV 3 - 0001.0.0 09/05/91

10 RG0/ The second of th : Public Service Company of New Hampshire

cc:

Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray One International Place Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01913

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire Kopelman & Paige, P.C. Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport & Salisbury 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Robert Backus, Esq.
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. T. C. Feigenbaum, President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 03801

Paul McEachern, Esquire 25 Maplewood Avenue, P.O. Box 60 ' Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Alfred V. Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01960

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 01950

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton
& Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts

Public Service Company of New Hampshire

cc:

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Gerald Garfield, Esq.
Day, Berry and Howard
City Place
Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P.O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office Of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
Panel Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U.S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970 Mr. Leon Maglathlin Public Service Company of New Hampshire 100 Elm Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office &
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Mr. J. M. Peschel Public Service Company of New Hampshire P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

G. Paul Bollwerk, IIIAtomic Safety & LicensingAppeal BoardU.S. Nuclear Regulatory CommissionWashington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Thomas S. Moore, Chairman
Atomic Safety & Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Civil Defense Agency
400 Worcester Road
P.O. Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0317
ATTN: James Muckerheide

cc:

Alan S. Rosenthal
Atomic Safety & Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Public Document Room (PDR) Local Public Document Room (LPDR) Núclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

bcc:
Chief, NRR/RSGB
Document Control Desk, Official Record Copy - RID RG01
Region I Docket Room w/concurrence (w/o SGI)
Region I Safeguards Licensing File (TAC U00400)
Region I Safeguards Licensing Serial File
Chief, RPS 3B, RI/DRP

MRI:DRSS Buracker/slj M9/31/91 RI:DRSS Limroth 9/2//91 RI:DRSS Keimig 9/21/91

RI:DRSS Joyner 9/27/91

· . .