

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

June 7, 1989

Docket File

Docket Nos. 50-373, 50-374, 50-237, 50-249, 50-254, and 50-265

Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Nuclear Licensing Manager Commonwealth Edison Company Post Office Box 767 Chicago, Illinois 60690

Dear Mr. Kovach:

Enclosed for your information are copies of a Director's Decision, letter of transmittal and Federal Register notice issued by the Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (Director) in response to a Petition filed under 10 CFR 2.206 of the Commission's regulation. The Petition was filed by Ms. Susan Hiatt on behalf of the Ohio Citizens for Responsible Energy (OCRE). The Petitioner expressed concerns regarding the March 9, 1988 power oscillation event at LaSalle, Unit 2 and requested that the Director and Commission take specified action with respect to all boiling water reactors. As discussed in the enclosed Director's Decision, the Petitioner's request under 10 CFR 2.206 has been denied. However, the Petitioner's request to reopen rulemaking proceedings regarding Anticipated Transients Without Scram (ATWS) is being treated as a petition for rulemaking under 10 CFR 2.802 of the Commission's regulations.

Please contact me at (301) 492-1395 if you have any questions on this issue.

Sincerely,

Paul C. Shemanski, Acting Director

Project Directorate III-2
Division of Reactor Projects III,
IV. V. and Special Projects

Enclosures:

 Letter dated April 27, 1989 to Ms. Susan L. Hiatt

2. Director's Decision dated April 27, 1989

3. Federal Register Notice dated April 27, 1989

cc w/enclosures: See next page

8906140336

) Fol '11 Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth Edison Company

cc:

Phillip P. Steptoe, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Assistant Attorney General 100 West Randolph Street Suite 12 Chicago, Illinois 60601

Resident Inspector/LaSalle, NPS U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Rural Route No. 1 P. 0. Box 224 Marseilles, Illinois 61341

Chairman LaSalle County Board of Supervisors LaSalle County Courthouse Ottawa, Illinois 61350

Attorney General 500 South 2nd Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

Chairman
Illinois Commerce Commission
Leland Building
527 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois 62706

Mr. Michael C. Parker, Chief Division of Engineering Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive, 5th Floor Springfield, Illinois 62704

Regional Administrator, Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137 LaSalle County Nuclear Power Station Units 1 & 2

John W. McCaffrey Chief, Public Utilities Division SOIC 100 West Randolph Street Chicago, Illinois 60601 Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth Edison Company Dresden Nuclear Power Station Units 2 and 3

cc:

Michael I. Miller, Esq. Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Mr. J. Eenigenburg Plant Superintendent Dresden Nuclear Power Station Rural Route #1 Morris, Illinois 60450

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office Dresden Station Rural Route #1 Morris, Illinois 60450

Chairman
Board of Supervisors of
Grundy County
Grundy County Courthouse
Morris, Illinois 60450

Regional Administrator Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region III 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Mr. Michael E. Parker, Chief Division of Engineering Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive, 5th Floor Springfield, Illinois 62704 Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth Edison Company Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station Units 1 and 2

cc:

Mr. Stephen E. Shelton Vice President Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Company P. O. Box 4350 Davenport, Iowa 52808

Michael I. Miller, Esq. Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Mr. Richard Bax Station Manager Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station 22710 206th Avenue North Cordova, Illinois 61242

Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
22712 206th Avenue North
Cordova, Illinois 61242

Chairman
Rock Island County Board
of Supervisors
1504 3rd Avenue
Rock Island County Office Bldg.
Rock Island, Illinois 61201

Mr. Michael E. Parker, Chief Division of Engineering Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive, Springfield, Illinois 62704

Regional Administrator, Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137