October 30, 1995

Mr. D. L. Farrar Manager, Nuclear Regulatory Services Commonwealth Edison Company Executive Towers West III 1400 Opus Place, Suite 500 Downers Grove, IL 60515

SUBJECT: REDUCED SEISMIC CRITERIA FOR TEMPORARY CONDITIONS (TAC NO. M89067)

Dear Mr. Farrar:

As previously documented in NRR's letter to Commonwealth Edison Company (ComEd), concerning reduced seismic criteria for temporary conditions, dated September 15, 1995, the staff indicated that several items of technical concern had been identified during their initial review of ComEd's materials related to the application of reduced seismic criteria. These items of technical concern, which are delineated in the enclosure to this letter, are being forwarded to you in order to facilitate your evaluation of the seismic loading for temporary conditions program and to serve as a basis for further discussions between members of your organization and our technical staff. It should be noted that the comments contained in the enclosure represent the staff's preliminary assessments within this area and that pending the approval of a license amendment pursuant to 10 CFR 50.59(c) and 10 CFR 50.90, the design-basis seismic capability of the facility as described in the Updated Final Safety Analysis Report remains in effect.

Sincerely,

Original signed by:

Robert A. Capra, Project Director Project Directorate III-2 Division of Reactor Projects - III/IV Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: Assessment

cc w/encl: see next page

9511020082 951030 PDR ADOCK 05000237 P PDR

DISTRIBUTION:

Docket File (50-373/374, STN 50-454/455, STN 50-456/457,

50-237/249, 50-254/265, 50-295/304)

PDIII-2 r/f (6) **PUBLIC** J. Roe (JWR) R. Wessman 0-7 E23 R. Capra R. Latta C. Moore G. Bagchi 0-7 H15 R. Assa G. Dick J. Stang R. Lieberman 0-7 H5 C. Shiraki P. Brochman, SRI C. Grimes 0-11 E22 R. Pulsifer OGC, 015 B18 ACRS, T2 E26 P. Hiland, RIII A. Chaffee 0-11 A1

B. Clayton, RIII L. Miller, RIII B. Sheron, 07 D26 D. Skay

J. Jacobson, RIII (DRS) M. Farber, RIII

DOCUMENT NAME: LA89067.RPL

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

 OFFICE
 LA: PDIII-2
 E
 PM: PDIII-2
 Z
 NRR: DE
 D: PDIII-2
 E

 NAME
 CMOORE (1/MH) for RLATTA: jar (MH) BSHERON
 RCAPRA ROP
 DATE
 10/30/95
 10/17/95
 10/26/95
 10/30/95

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY NEC FILE CENTER COPY

## D. L. Farrar

cc:

Mr. William P. Poirier, Director Westinghouse Electric Corporation Energy Systems Business Unit Post Office Box 355, Bay 236 West Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Joseph Gallo Gallo & Ross 1250 Eye St., N.W. Suite 302 Washington, DC 20005

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Howard A. Learner
Environmental law and Policy
Center of the Midwest
203 North LaSalle Street
Suite 1390
Chicago, Illinois 60601

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Byron Resident Inspectors Office 4448 North German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010-9750

Regional Administrator, Region III U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 801 Warrenville Road Lisle, Illinois 60532-4351

Ms. Lorraine Creek Rt. 1, Box 182 Manteno, Illinois 60950

Chairman, Ogle County Board Post Office Box 357 Oregon, Illinois 61061

Mrs. Phillip B. Johns 1907 Stratford Lane Rockford, Illinois 61107

Mayor of Zion Zion, Illinois 60099

## Commonwealth Edison Company

Attorney General 500 South Second Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

EIS Review Coordinator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 77 W. Jackson Blvd. Chicago, Illinois 60604-3590

Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Facility Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

Commonwealth Edison Company Byron Station Manager 4450 North German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010

Kenneth Graesser, Site Vice President Byron Station Commonwealth Edison Station 4450 N. German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Braidwood Resident Inspectors Office Rural Route #1, Box 79 Braceville, Illinois 60407

Mr. Ron Stephens
Illinois Emergency Services
and Disaster Agency
110 East Adams Street
Springfield, Illinois 62706

Chairman
Will County Board of Supervisors
Will County Board Courthouse
Joliet, Illinois 60434

Commonwealth Edison Company Braidwood Station Manager Rt. 1, Box 84 Braceville, Illinois 60407 Mr. Thomas P. Joyce Site Vice President Dresden Nuclear Power Station 6500 North Dresden Road Morris, Illinois 60450-9765

Mr. J. Heffley Station Manager Dresden Nuclear Power Station 6500 North Dresden Road Morris, Illinois 60450-9765

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office Dresden Station 6500 North Dresden Road Morris, Illinois 60450-9766

Richard J. Singer Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy Company 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303

Brent E. Gale, Esq.
Vice President - Law and
Regulatory Affairs
One RiverCenter Place
106 East Second Street
P.O. Box 4350
Davenport, Iowa 52808

Phillip P. Steptoe, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Assistant Attorney General 100 West Randolph Street Suite 12 Chicago, Illinois 60601

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Zion Resident Inspectors Office 105 Shiloh Blvd. Zion, Illinois 60099 Chairman Grundy County Board Administration Building 1320 Union Street Morris, Illinois 60450

Mr. Stephen E. Shelton Vice President Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Company P. O. Box 4350 Davenport, Iowa 52808

Mr. L. William Pearce Station Manager Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station 22710 206th Avenue North Cordova, Illinois 61242

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Quad Cities Resident Inspectors Office 22712 206th Avenue North Cordova, Illinois 61242

Chairman
Rock Island County Board
of Supervisors
1504 3rd Avenue
Rock Island County Office Bldg.
Rock Island, Illinois 61201

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office LaSalle Station 2605 N. 21st Road Marseilles, Illinois 61341-9756

Chairman
LaSalle County Board of Supervisors
LaSalle County Courthouse
Ottawa, Illinois 61350

George L. Edgar Morgan, Lewis and Bochius 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036 Robert Cushing Chief, Public Utilities Division Illinois Attorney General's Office 100 West Randolph Street Chicago, Illinois 60601

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

LaSalle Station Manager LaSalle County Station Rural Route 1 P.O. Box 220 Marseilles, Illinois 61341

Robert Cushing Chief, Public Utilities Division Illinois Attorney General's Office 100 West Randolph Street Chicago, Illinois 60601

Dr. Cecil Lue-Hing Director of Research and Development Metropolitan Sanitary District of Greater Chicago 100 East Erie Street Chicago, Illinois 60611

Station Manager Zion Nuclear Power Station 101 Shiloh Blvd. Zion, Illinois 60099-2797