## February 27, 199

Docket Nos. 50-237, 50-249 50-254, 50-265 and 50-373, 50-374

> Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Nuclear Licensing Manager Commonwealth Edison Company-Suite 300 OPUS West III 1400 OPUS Place Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

DISTRIBUTION:
NRC & Local PDRs
B. Boger
R. Barrett
B. Siegel
M. Chatterton
Plant File

Docket
File
PDIII-2 r/f
J. Zwolinski
C. Moore
OGC
ACRS(10)
B. Clayton

Dear Mr. Kovach:

SUBJECT: TOPICAL REPORT FOR NEUTRONICS METHODS FOR BWR RELOAD DESIGN FOR COMMONWEALTH PLANTS (TAC NO. M79385)

By letter dated December 12, 1990, you submitted the topical report titled "Commonwealth Edison Company Topical Report - Benchmark of BWR Nuclear Design Methods," NFSR-0085. Supplements 1 and 2 were submitted by letter dated May 8, 1991. Additional information was submitted by letter dated December 23, 1991. The topical report was submitted to support reload nuclear design analyses for the Dresden, Quad Cities, and LaSalle stations.

Based on the staff's review of the information submitted, we have determined that this report is acceptable for referencing for future reload cycles for these plants. Our safety evaluation is provided as an enclosure.

Sincerely,

Original signed by: Byron L. Siegel

Byron L. Siegel, Project Manager Project Directorate III-2 Division of Reactor Projects - III/IV/V Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation

cc w/enclosure: See next page

OFC	LA:RDIII-2	PM:PDIII-2	D:PDIII-2	.			
NAME	CMOORE	BSIEGEL:ja/	RBARRETT	1	*		
DATE	221/92	12/2/192	19 19 192	1		1	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

NAC FALE CENTER COPY



Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth Edison Company Dresden Nuclear Power Station Unit Nos. 2 and 3

## cc:

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60690

Mr. C. Schroeder
Plant Manager
Dresden Nuclear Power Station
Rural Route #1
Morris, Illinois 60450

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspectors Office Dresden Station Rural Route #1 Morris, Illinois 60450

Chairman
Board of Supervisors of
Grundy County
Grundy County Courthouse
Morris, Illinois 60450

Regional Administrator Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region III 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Facility Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

Robert Neumann Office of Public Counsel State of Illinois Center 100 W. Randolph Suite 11-300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 14

Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth

Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2

## cc:

Mr. Stephen E. Shelton Vice President Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Company P. O. Box 4350 Davenport, Iowa 52808

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60690

Mr. Richard Bax Station Manager Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station 22710 206th Avenue North Cordova, Illinois 61242

Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
22712 206th Avenue North
Cordova, Illinois 61242

Chairman
Rock Island County Board
of Supervisors
1504 3rd Avenue
Rock Island County Office Bldg.
Rock Island, Illinois 61201

Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Facility Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

Regional Administrator, Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Robert Neumann Office of Public Counsel State of Illinois Center 100 W. Randolph Suite 11-300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 Mr. Thomas J. Kovach Commonwealth Edison Company

cc:

Phillip P. Steptoe, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Assistant Attorney General 100 West Randolph Street Suite 12 Chicago, Illinois 60601

Resident Inspector/LaSalle, NPS U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Rural Route No. 1 P. O. Box 224 Marseilles, Illinois 61341

Chairman
LaSalle County Board of Supervisors
LaSalle County Courthouse
Ottawa, Illinois 61350

Attorney General 500 South 2nd Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

Chairman
Illinois Commerce Commission
Leland Building
527 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois 62706

Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Facility Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

Regional Administrator, Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Roosevelt Road, Bldg. #4 Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Robert Neuman Office of Public Counsel State of Illinois Center 100 W. Randolph Suite 11-300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 LaSalle County Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2

Robert Cushing Chief, Public Utilities Division Illinois Attorney General's Office 100 West Randolph Street Chicago, Illinois 60601

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60690

Mr. G. Diederich LaSalle Station Manager LaSalle County Station Rural Route 1 P. O. Box 220 Marseilles, Illinois 61341