



Telephone (856) 797-0900 Fax (856) 797-0909

March 29, 2016

Mr. Mark Lombard Director, Division of Spent Fuel Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

Subject:	Schedule for Holtec Licensing of HI-STORE Interim Storage Facility
Docket Number:	72-1051
Reference:	[1] Holtec Letter 5025001, "Notice of Intent to License the ELEA Interim Storage Facility and Request to Establish a New Part 72 Docket," from S. Anton (Holtec) to M. Lombard (NRC), dated August 3, 2015

Dear Director Lombard:

We are pleased to inform you that the Site Specific Licensing application to establish a Consolidated Interim Facility, named HI-STORE CIS (Ref [1]), is under preparation in full accord with Regulatory Guide 3.50 and NUREG-1567. Our scheduled date to complete the required work effort to tender a high quality and comprehensive safety documentation to the Commission is Nov 30, 2016.

HI-STORE CIS will be founded on a plot of unused land at least 35 miles from any populated community in Southeast New Mexico that has been secured by Holtec International from ELEA, LLC. Holtec International will build and operate the facility which will be hosted by ELEA, LLC.

This site specific license application will be supported by the FSAR and Technical Specification for the HI-STORM UMAX canister storage system (Docket # 72-1040) which will be the only storage system deployed at the HI-STORE CIS. The list of contents for HI-STORM UMAX, which is envisaged to serve as a universal storage system for all canisters presently licensed by the NRC and loaded at a US ISFSI, is being expanded through a license amendment request to include the (horizontally disposed) NUHOMS 24PT canister presently deployed at SONGS. This amendment request to the "UMAX" general certificate is planned to be submitted on August 29, 2016.

Document ID 5025002

We would greatly appreciate your consideration of our request to plan the deployment of the necessary review and management resources corresponding to the above submittal dates for an expeditiously conducted review.

Sincerely,

Stefan Anton Vice President of Engineering, Holtec International

cc:

Ernest J. Moniz, Secretary United States Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Kevin T. Knobloch, Chief of Staff United States Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Ryan Flynn, Secretary of Environment State of New Mexico 1190 Saint Francis Drive Santa Fe, NM 87505

David Victor, Chair Edison Community Engagement Panel University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0519 La Jolla, CA 92093-0519

Thomas Palmisano, Chief Nuclear Officer Southern California Edison San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station PO Box 128 San Clemente, CA 92672

Michael Moran, Site Engineering & Decommissioning Engineering Manager Southern California Edison San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station PO Box 128 San Clemente, CA 92672

L. Jearl Strickland, Director Nuclear Projects Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Diablo Canyon Power Plant PO Box 56 Avila Beach, CA 93424

John Heaton, Vice Chair Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220 John Kotek, Assistant Energy Secretary United States Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Governor Susana Martinez Office of the Governor 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Room 400 Santa Fe, NM 87501

Keith Gardner, Chief of Staff Office of the Governor 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Room 400 Santa Fe, NM 87501

F. David Martin, Secretary of Energy New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department 1220 South Saint Francis Avenue Santa Fe, NM 87505

Ron Pontes, Deputy Project Dir. Southern California Edison San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station PO Box 128 San Clemente, CA 92672

Ed Halpin, CNO Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Diablo Canyon Power Plant PO Box 56 Avila Beach, CA 93424

Lawrence Pulley, ISFSI Manager Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Diablo Canyon Power Plant PO Box 56 Avila Beach, CA 93424

Monty Newman, Chairman Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220 Greg Fulfer, Chairman, Lee County Commission Board Member, Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Susan Crockett, Treasurer, Eddy-Lea Alliance Chair, Eddy County Commission 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Jack Volpato, Board Member Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Allan Hall, Esquire Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Chip Lowe, CPA Lea County Finance Manager 100 N. Main Street, Suite 11 Lovington, NM 88260

Melinda Allen, Director Lea County Economic Development Corp. 299 East Broadway Street Hobbs, NM 88240

Michael Gallagher, County Administrator Lea County 100 North Main Street, Suite 4 Lovington, NM 88260

Rick Rudometkin, Administrator Eddy County 101 West Greene Street Carlsbad, NM 88220

Senator Martin Heinrich United States Senate 123 East Marcy Street, Suite 103 Santa Fe, NM 87501 Sam Cobb, Secretary, Eddy-Lea Alliance Mayor, City of Hobbs City Hall, 200 East Broadway Hobbs, NM 88240

Jason Shirley, Board, Eddy-Lea Alliance Councilman, Carlsbad City Council City Hall, 101 N. Haloqueno Carlsbad, NM 88221

Johnny Cope, Board Member Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Mayor Dale Janway City of Carlsbad – City Hall 101 N. Haloqueno Carlsbad, NM 88221

Gay West, Eddy County Finance Manager 101 West Greene Street Carlsbad, NM 88220

John Waters, Director Carlsbad Department of Development 400-2 Cascades Avenue, Suite 201 Carlsbad, NM 88220

Steve McCutcheon, City Administrator City of Carlsbad 101 Halaqueno Carlsbad, NM 88221

Senator Tom Udall United States Senate 102 West Hagerman Street, Suite A Carlsbad, NM 88220

Dan Alpert, Sr. Legal Asst. Senator Martin Heinrich 123 East Marcy Street, Suite 103 Santa Fe, NM 87501 Congressman Steve Pearce United States Congress 200 E. Broadway, Suite 200 Hobbs, NM 88240

Congressman Ben Ray Lujan United States Congress 1611 Calle Lorca, Suite A Santa Fe, NM 87505

Ed Mayer, HI-STORE Program Director Holtec International

Holtec International Executive Committee Congresswoman Michelle Lujan-Grisham United States Congress 400 Gold Avenue, SW, Suite 680 Albuquerque, NM 87102

Adam Heflin, CEO Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Co. 1550 Oxen Lane, N.E. Burlington, Kansas 66839

Kim Manzione, Licensing Manager Holtec International

Holtec User Group Distribution List