TELECONFERENCE MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE MEDICAL USES OF ISOTOPES

October 28, 2015

MEETING SUMMARY

PURPOSE

To discuss the Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes (ACMUI) subcommittee report on the ACMUI review of and comments on Petitions for Rulemaking (PRM)-20-28, 20-29, 20-30, "Linear No-Threshold Model and Standards for Protection Against Radiation."

OUTCOME

The subcommittee provided a draft report for discussion with the full Committee. Subcommittee members included: Dr. Philip Alderson (Chair), Dr. Susan Langhorst, Dr. Christopher Palestro, Dr. John Suh, Ms. Laura Weil and Dr. Pat Zanzonico. During the meeting, the Committee unanimously approved the draft report. The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff gained a better understanding of the views and opinions of the ACMUI. The final report will be submitted to the NRC staff, and the staff will consider the ACMUI's comments in its continuing effort to make Title 10 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 20, "Standards for Protection Against Radiation" more useful, practical, and not overly burdensome on licensees, while maintaining public health and safety.

A full transcript and handout for the ACMUI teleconference meeting can be found on NRC's public website at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acmui/meetings/

The draft and final ACMUI Subcommittee report on the Hormesis/Linear No-Threshold Petitions is available on NRC's public website under "ACMUI Subcommittee Reports": http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acmui/reports/

AGENDA TOPIC

Discuss the ACMUI Subcommittee Report on the Review and Comments of Petitions for Rulemaking (PRM)-20-28, 20-29, and 20-30, "Linear No-Threshold Model and Standards for Protection Against Radiation."

SUMMARY

The ACMUI Subcommittee evaluated the three PRMs related to radiation Hormesis and the Linear No-Threshold (LNT) dose-response model of radiation carcinogenesis in order to suggest recommendations that the ACMUI should make to the Commission. The subcommittee provided a draft report for the Committee's consideration.

RECOMMENDATIONS AND ACTIONS

The subcommittee discussed the following recommendation in the draft subcommittee report:

The NRC should continue to base the formulation of radiation protection standards in 10 CFR Part 20 on the LNT model until additional scientific evidence becomes available.

The Draft Hormesis/Linear No-Threshold Petitions Subcommittee Report (ML15287A494) was unanimously approved by the full ACMUI. The Final Hormesis/Linear No-Threshold Petitions Report (ML15310A418) is posted on the ACMUI Subcommittee Report Webpage.

Attachments:

List of Attendees

MEETING ATTENDEES

ACMUI

Philip O. Alderson, M.D. Chairman Pat B. Zanzonico, Ph.D. Vice Chairman

Francis M. Costello Member Vasken Dilsizian, M.D. Member Ronald D. Ennis, M.D. Member Steven R. Mattmuller Member Michael D. O'Hara, Ph.D. Member Christopher J. Palestro, M.D. Member John H. Suh, M.D. Member Laura M. Weil Member

Darlene F. Metter, M.D. Non-Voting Member Zoubir Ouhib Non-Voting Member

NRC

Josie Piccone, Ph.D. Director, Division of Material Safety, State, Tribal and

Rulemaking Programs (MSTR)

Branch Chief, Medical Safety and Events Assessment **Douglas Bollock**

Branch (MSEB) and Designated Federal Officer

Alternate Designated Federal Officer/ACMUI Coordinator Sophie Holiday

Michael Fuller Medical Radiation Safety Team Leader

Maryann Abogunde **NMSS** Ashley Cockerham **NMSS** Said Daibes, Ph.D. **NMSS** Anthony Delamotte NMSS Sara Forster RIII Jeff Griffis OCHCO Latischa Hanson RIV Vincent Holahan, Ph.D. **NMSS** Esther Houseman OGC Donna-Beth Howe, Ph.D. **NMSS** Erin Kennedy RIII Penny Lanzisera RI Dennis O'Dowd RIII Gretchen Rivera-Capella

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Rich Beauman Oregon Health Authority Mike Blake American Nuclear Society

Isabelle Busenitz Kansas Department of Health and Environment

NMSS

American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) Jeff Colvin

unaffiliated Peter Crane Jerry Cuttler unaffiliated

Victor Diaz New Mexico Environment Department Radiation Control Stephen Dragotakes
William Duncan
Chuck Flynn
Sandra Gabriel
Wendy Galbraith

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Texas Department of State Health Services
Texas Department of State Health Services
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Hilary Haskins Oregon Health Authority

Scott Knishka University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public

Health Radiopharmaceutical Production Facility
Texas Department of State Health Services

Richard Lamboi Texas Department of State He Daryl Leon Oregon Health Authority

Sam Leveritt Cardinal Health
Marvin Lewis unaffiliated

Richard Martin American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)

Joseph Noble Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Judith Schuerman Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality

Michael Sheetz University of Pittsburgh
Jeffry Siegel Nuclear Physics Enterprises

Michael Stabin Vanderbilt University

David Stephens Arkansas Department of Health
Mike Stephens Florida Bureau of Radiation Control

David Stradinger North Dakota Department of Health, Radiation Control

Bruce Thomadsen University of Wisconsin

Cindy Tomlinson American Society of Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)

Nicole Traphan Texas Department of State Health Services

Ed Truskowski New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection