September 29, 2015

Mr. Scott Head Manager of Regulatory Affairs Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

SUBJECT: FINAL SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT FOR THE SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT.

UNITS 3 AND 4, COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION

Dear Mr. Head:

This letter is to inform you that the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff has completed the final safety evaluation report (FSER) for the South Texas Project (STP), Units 3 and 4, Combined License Application, submitted by South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) on September 20, 2007. As of January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. (NINA) became the lead applicant for STP, Units 3 and 4. As such, NINA assumed responsibility for the design, construction, and licensing of STP, Units 3 and 4.

The enclosed FSER is being provided only to NINA for your information and will be submitted to the Commission in preparation for the mandatory (uncontested) hearing. The FSER has also been placed in the public document room and has been made publically available in Agency Documents Access and Management System (Accession Number ML15232A128) and on the public website. The NRC staff's issuance of this FSER does not constitute a commitment to issue the combined license, or in any way affect the authority of the Commission in any mandatory hearing proceeding pursuant to Subpart C of Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* Part 52.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Frank Akstulewicz, Director Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket Nos.: 52-012

52-013

Enclosure:

Final Safety Evaluation Report

cc w/o encl: See next page

Mr. Scott Head Manager of Regulatory Affairs Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

SUBJECT: FINAL SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT FOR THE SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT,

UNITS 3 AND 4, COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION

Dear Mr. Head:

This letter is to inform you that the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff has completed the final safety evaluation report (FSER) for the South Texas Project (STP), Units 3 and 4, Combined License Application, submitted by South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) on September 20, 2007. As of January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. (NINA) became the lead applicant for STP, Units 3 and 4. As such, NINA assumed responsibility for the design, construction, and licensing of STP, Units 3 and 4.

The enclosed FSER is being provided only to NINA for your information and will be submitted to the Commission in preparation for the mandatory (uncontested) hearing. The FSER has also been placed in the public document room and has been made publically available in Agency Documents Access and Management System (Accession Number ML15232A128) and on the public website. The NRC staff's issuance of this FSER does not constitute a commitment to issue the combined license, or in any way affect the authority of the Commission in any mandatory hearing proceeding pursuant to Subpart C of Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* Part 52.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Frank Akstulewicz, Director Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket Nos.: 52-012

52-013

Enclosure:

Final Safety Evaluation Report

cc w/o encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC SLee, NRO TTai, NRO RidsNroDnrl LB2 R/F RidsOpaMailCenter RidsOgcMailCenter RidsNroDnrlLb2

RidsNroLACSmith RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

ADAMS Accession No.: ML15212A933 NRO-002

OFFICE	PM:NRO/DNRL/LB2	LA:NRO/DNRL/LB2	LPM:NRO/DNRL/LB2	BC:NRO/DNRL/LB2	DD:NRO/DNRL
NAME	LBetancourt	CMurphy	TTai	SLee	FAkstulewicz
DATE	9/17/15	9/21/15	9/21/15	9/21/15	9/29/15

CC:

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge
Matagorda County
Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 Seventh Street
Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483 Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

<u>Email</u>

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindyrae_52@yahoo.com david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karenhadden@gmail.com (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner) ldblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)