September 9, 2015

MEMORANDUM TO: Scott A. Morris, Director

Division of Inspection and Regional Support

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Michael A. Dusaniwskyj, Economist /RA/

Financial Analysis and International Projects Branch

Division of Inspection and Regional Support

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

THRU: Anthony Bowers, Chief /RA/

Financial Analysis and International Projects Branch

Division of Inspection and Regional Support

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: QUALITY ASSURANCE AUDIT FINDINGS OF THE 2015

BIENNIAL DECOMMISSIONING FUNDING ASSURANCE

STATUS REPORTS

As required under LIC-205, Revision 4, "Procedures for NRC's Independent Analysis of Decommissioning Funding Assurance for Operating Nuclear Power Reactors," this memorandum is to inform you that a quality assurance audit of the 2015 Biennial Decommissioning Funding Status (DFS) Reports and staff's independent review is complete and revealed no discrepancies.

The audit procedure requires that staff perform: (1) a check for completeness of the required information submitted by the licensee in the DFS reports pursuant to Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) § 50.75(f)(1); (2) an examination of the transcribed data entered by the financial analysts into the datasheets of the review model; (3) a correct calculation of the formula found in the Table of Minimum Amounts as per 10 CFR 50.75(c); (4) a determination that the declared decommissioning trust fund balance provides reasonable decommission funding assurance; and (5) an assessment that there is reasonable assurance that decommissioning funds will be available when needed.

A 10 percent random sample of DFS reports was used in this audit, along with the associated staff reviews. The 10 DFS reports included in the audit were:

1.) Waterford Generating Station, Unit 3

2.) Peach Bottom Atomic Power Station, Unit 2

3.) Cooper Nuclear Station

CONTACT: Michael A. Dusaniwskyj, NRR/DIRS

301-415-1260

S. Morris 2

- 4.) Summer (Virgil C.) Nuclear Station
- 5.) LaSalle County Station, Unit 1
- 6.) Farley (Joseph M.) Nuclear Plant, Unit 1
- 7.) Millstone Nuclear Power Station, Unit 2
- 8.) Braidwood Station, Unit 1
- 9.) Fitzpatrick (James A.) Nuclear Power Plant
- 10.) Clinton Power Station

S. Morris 2

- 4.) Summer (Virgil C.) Nuclear Station
- 5.) LaSalle County Station, Unit 1
- 6.) Farley (Joseph M.) Nuclear Plant, Unit 1
- 7.) Millstone Nuclear Power Station, Unit 2
- 8.) Braidwood Station, Unit 1
- 9.) Fitzpatrick (James A.) Nuclear Power Plant
- 10.) Clinton Power Station

ADAMS Accession No.: ML15203A222

| OFFICE | NRR/DIRS/IFIB | NRR/DIRS/IFIB |
|--------|---------------|---------------|
| NAME | MDusaniwskyj | ABowers |
| DATE | 07/22/2015 | 09/09/2015 |