

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

November 25, 1998

Mr. M. S. Tuckman
Executive Vice President
Nuclear Generation
Duke Energy Corporation
526 South Church Street
P.O. Box 1006
Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

SUBJECT:

RELIEF REQUEST TO USE AN ALTERNATIVE TO THE ASME BOILER AND

PRESSURE VESSEL CODE, SECTION XI RELATED TO VISUAL EXAMINATIONS - CATAWBA NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2;

MCGUIRE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2; AND OCONEE NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1, 2, AND 3 (TAC NOS. MA2009, MA2010, MA2013, MA2014

MA2015; MA2011, AND MA2012) (SERIAL NO. 98-GO-004)

Dear Mr. Tuckman:

By letter dated May 28, 1998, Duke Energy Corporation submitted Request for Relief No. 98-GO-004, seeking relief from the expedited examination of containment required by Title 10 of the <u>Code of Federal Regulations</u> (10 CFR) Section 50.55a(g)(6)(ii)(B), and the requirements of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (ASME Code), Section XI, for the Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, the McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, and the Oconee Nuclear Station, Units 1, 2, and 3, third 10-year interval. By letter dated July 29, 1998, you responded to an NRC request for additional information and provided a revised version of 98-GO-004.

To comply with the expedited examination of containment requirements of 10 CFR 50.55a(g)(6)(ii)(B), visual examinations of Class MC (and Metallic Liners of Class CC Concrete Components of Light-Water Cooled Reactors) and Class CC (Concrete Components of Light-Water Cooled Reactors) components must be performed in accordance with the requirements of IWL.

Based on the information provided, and as discussed in the enclosed Safety Evaluation, the staff concludes that the proposed alternative will provide an acceptable level of quality and safety. Therefore, this proposed alternative is authorized, pursuant to 10 CFR 50.55a(a)(3)(i),

9811300104 981125 PDR ADDCK 05000269 P PDR

NEG FILE CENTER CON

D/O1

for the Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, the McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, and the Oconee Nuclear Station, Units 1, 2, and 3, third 10-year interval.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY:

Herbert N. Berkow, Director **Project Directorate II-2** Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, 50-370,

50-269, 50-270, and 50-287

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

Distribution:

MTschiltz, EDO

LPlisco, RII

Docket File

e-mail TLH3 (SE only)

COgle, RII

PUBLIC

OGC

GBagchi

PD II-2 Rdg.

GHill (14)

HAShar

JZwolinski **ACRS**

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy w/o encl "E" = Copy w/encl

"N" = No copy / OFFICE PDII 2 PW PDII-2/LA PDII-2/PM PDII-2/PM_h DLaBarde:cn **GBacchi** PTam (1/5) LBerry X() FRinaldi ₩Be NAME 10 119198 11/2-198 DATE 10/14/98 10 114 198 10 MY 198

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\OCONEE\OCOA2013.RR

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

1919/98

for the Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, the McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, second 10-year interval, and the Oconee Nuclear Station, Units 1, 2, and 3, third 10-year interval.

Sincerely,

Herbert N. Berkow, Director

Project Directorate II-2

Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, 50-370,

50-269, 50-270, and 50-287

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

Catawba, McGuire, Oconee Nuclear Stations

CC:

Dr. John M. Barry
Mecklenburg County
Department of Environmental
Protection
700 N Tryon Street
Charlotte, North Carolina 29202

County Manager of Mecklenburg County 720 East Fourth Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Mr. Michael T. Cash
Regulatory Compliance Manager
Duke Energy Corporation
McGuire Nuclear Site
12700 Hagers Ferry Road
Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Senior Resident Inspector c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Mr. Richard M. Fry, Director
Division of Radiation Protection
North Carolina Department of
Environment, Health, and Natural
Resources
3825 Barrett Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7721

County Supervisor of Oconee County Walhalla, South Carolina 27621

Elaine Wathen, Lead REP Planner Division of Emergency Management 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-1335

Mr. T. Richard Puryear Owners Group (NCEMC) Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745 Mr. Rick N. Edwards Framatome Technologies Suite 525 1700 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852

Manager, LIS NUS Corporation 2650 McCormick Drive, 3rd Floor Clearwater, Florida 34619-1035

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 7812B Rochester Highway Seneca, South Carolina 29672

Mr. G. R. Peterson Site Vice President Catawba Nuclear Station Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. H. B. Barron Vice President, McGuire Site Duke Energy Corporation 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Mr. William R. McCollum Vice President, Oconee Site Duke Energy Corporation P. O. Box 1439 Seneca, South Carolina 29679

North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation P. O. Box 27306 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 Catawba, McGuire, Oconee Nuclear Stations

CC:

Mr. Gary Gilbert Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. Paul R. Newton Legal Department (PBO5E) Duke Energy Corporation 422 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

J. Michael McGarry, III, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW. Washington, DC 20005

North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 1427 Meadowwood Boulevard P. O. Box 29513 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626

Mr. Steven P. Shaver Senior Sales Engineer Westinghouse Electric Company 5929 Carnegie Blvd. Suite 500 Charlotte, North Carolina 28209

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Drive Greer, South Carolina 29651 Saluda River Electric Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 929 Laurens, South Carolina 29360

Senior Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
4830 Concord Road
York, South Carolina 29745

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth Street, S.W., Suite 23T85 Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Virgil R. Autry, Director
Division of Radioactive Waste Management
Bureau of Land and Waste Management
Department of Health and Environmental
Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Ms. Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General North Carolina Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

L. A. Keller
Manager - Nuclear Regulatory
Licensing
Duke Energy Corporation
526 South Church Street
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Mr. Ed Burchfield Compliance Duke Energy Corporation Oconee Nuclear Site P. O. Box 1439 Seneca, South Carolina 29679