Mr. Craven Crowell Board of Directors Chair Electric Reliability Council of Texas 7620 Metro Center Drive Austin, Texas 78744

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF THE AVAILABILITY OF THE COMBINED LICENSE

APPLICATION FOR SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT UNITS 3 AND 4 IN

ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 10 OF THE CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS

**SECTION 50.43 REQUIREMENTS** 

Dear Mr. Crowell:

On September 20, 2007, South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) tendered a combined license (COL) application to construct and operate two additional nuclear reactors (South Texas Project Units 3 and 4) at the South Texas Project (STP) Electric Generating Station site located in Matagorda County near Bay City, Texas. On January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) became the lead applicant for STP Units 3 and 4, with STPNOC remaining as the proposed operator. The application is currently under review by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff.

In that September 20, 2007, application, STPNOC stated that it was submitting the COL application pursuant to the requirements of Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) Part 52, "Licenses, Certifications, and Approvals for Nuclear Power Plants," Subpart C, "Combined Licenses." In addition, the COL application incorporates by reference the U.S. Advanced Boiling Water Reactor design certification in 10 CFR Part 52, Appendix A.

In accordance with the requirements found in 10 CFR 50.43(a)(1), the staff is providing this written notification to you because the staff has determined that your agency may have jurisdiction over the rates and services that are incident to the possible licensing by the NRC of STP Units 3 and 4.

A copy of the application is available on the Internet at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reactors/col.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reactors/col.html</a>. The application is also available via the Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Public Electronic Reading Room on the Internet at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a>. Other publicly available documents related to the application are also posted in ADAMS.

C. Crowell -2-

If you have any questions, I can be reached at (301) 415-8484 or by email at <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 2 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

cc w/encl: See next page

C. Crowell -2-

If you have any questions, I can be reached at (301) 415-8484 or by email at <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 2 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

cc w/encl: See next page

**Distribution**:

PUBLIC
RidsNroDnrl
RidsEdoMailCenter
RidsOgcMailCenter
RidsNroOd
RidsNroMailCenter
RidsNroDnrlLb2

SLee Troy TTai LBetancourt SGreen

ADAMS Accession No.: ML15085A440 \*via e-mail NRO-002

OFFICE	PM:NRO/LB2	PM:NRO/LB2	LA:NRO/LB3	PM:NRO/LB2	OGC: NLO	BC:NRO/LB2
NAME	TRoy	LBetancourt	SGreen	TTai	MASpencer*	SLee
DATE	03/26/15	03/30/15	03/30/15	03/31/15	05/04/15	05/04/15

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List cc:

(Revised 09/29/2014)

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483 Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

## Email

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindyrae 52@yahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner) Idblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)