February 10, 2015

MEMORANDUM TO: John Segala, Chief

Licensing Branch 1

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

FROM: Brian Hughes, Senior Project Manager /RA/

Licensing Branch 1

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF A PUBLIC TELECONFERENCE ON

JANUARY 29, 2015, WITH MEMBERS OF AP1000 DESIGN CENTER

TO DISCUSS AP1000 LICENSING AND TECHNICAL ISSUES

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held a Category 2 public teleconference on December 11, 2014, at 2:00 p.m. with members of the AP1000 design center. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss AP1000 combined license (COL) issues. The list of attendees is enclosed. The meeting notice is available in the Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS).¹ The meeting notice is also posted on the NRC public website.²

The meeting addressed an issue associated with the Duke Energy William States Lee III (WSL III) Units 1 and 2 COL application. The issue related to the emergency plan discussing certain tables stating evacuation time estimates. The NRC staff asked questions to clarify inconsistencies in the Estimated Time Evacuation tables. The applicant stated WSL III that they will review the text and table to ensure consistency. The applicant agreed to submit a supplemental response within 30 days correcting any inconsistencies in their submittals.

CONTACT: Brian Hughes, NRO/DNRL

(301) 415-6582

¹ ADAMS Accession No. MLML14349A365

² http://meetings.nrc.gov/pmns/mtg?do=details&Code=20141974

J. Segala - 2 -

At the end of the meeting, there was an opportunity for the public to provide comments and ask questions. No questions were asked.

Docket Nos.: 52-018, 52-019,

Enclosure:

Meeting Attendees List

cc w/encl: See next page

J.Segala - 2 -

At the end of the meeting, there was an opportunity for the public to provide comments and ask questions. No questions were asked.

Docket Nos.: 52-018, 52-019,

Enclosure:

Meeting Attendees List

cc w/encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC DHabib RidsOgcMailCenter

DNRL LB1 R/F LBurkhart KThomas
DNRL LB4 R/F TGalletta DMcGovern
BHughes BBavol RReyes
JSegala DBarss DJaffe

MComar

ADAMS Accession No.: ML15037A440 *via email NRC-001

OFFICE	DNRL/LB1:PM	DNRL/LB1:LA*	DNRL/LB1:PM
NAME	BHughes	JMcLellan	BHughes
DATE	02/10/2015	02/10/2015	02/10/2015

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

PUBLIC MEETING UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION Public Meeting Teleconference with AP1000 Design Center Thursday, January 29, 2015 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

List of Attendees

Purpose: To discuss AP1000 combined license review issues

Name	Organization		
Representing the Nuclear Regulatory Commission			
Brian Hughes	NRO/DNRL/LB1		
Kenneth Thomas	NSIR/DPR/NRLB/NRLT		
Dan Barss	NSIR/DPR/NRLB/NRLT		
Representing Industry			
Robert Kitchen	Duke Energy		
James Thornton	Duke Energy		
Richard Browder	Duke Energy		
Larry Taylor	Duke Energy		
Mike Kirk	Enercon		
Jay Maiser	Enercon		

COL - Duke Energy - Lee Mailing List cc:

(Revised 09/04/2014)

Mr. Christopher M. Fallon VP, Nuclear Development Progress Energy Florida, Inc. P.O. Box 1006 - ECO9D Charlotte, NC 28202

Dhiaa M. Jamil Group Executive and Chief Nuclear Officer Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC P.O. Box 1006 - EC03XM 526 South Church St. Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Ms. Ruth Thomas 354 Woodland Dr. Columbus, NC 28722

Mr. James Thornton Duke Energy / NuStart ECO9D / P.O. Box 1006 Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Page 1 of 2

Email

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) christopher.fallon@duke-energy.com (Christopher M. Fallon) collinlj@westinghouse.com (Leslie Collins) CumminWE@Westinghouse.com (Edward W. Cummins) cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) delongra@westinghouse.com (Rich DeLong) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) fbelser@regstaff.sc.gov gary@jonespartners.net (Gary Jones) gsoult@regstaff.sc.gov (Gene G. Soult) james.thornton@duke-energy.com (James Thornton) iflitter@regstaff.sc.gov john.oneill@pillsburylaw.com (John O'Neill) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) kwaugh@impact-net.org (Kenneth O. Waugh) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) majames@regstaff.sc.gov (Anthony James) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) murawski@newsobserver.com (John Murawski) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) russpa@westinghouse.com (Paul Russ) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) shudson@regstaff.sc.gov (Shannon Hudson) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) TomClements329@cs.com (Tom Clements) Vanessa.guinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) weave1dw@westinghouse.com (Doug Weaver)