

South Texas Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

January 8, 2015 NOC-AE-15003209 File No.: G25 10 CFR 50.55a

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

> South Texas Project Unit 1 Docket No. STN 50-498

Request for Relief from Code Case N-770-1, Subsection 2400 and Table 1 Inspection Frequency of Reactor Vessel Cold Leg Nozzle to Safe-end Welds
(Relief Request RR-ENG-3-17) Retraction

Reference:

STPNOC letter dated November 19, 2014 from Michael Berg, to the NRC, "South Texas Project Unit 1 Docket No. STN 50-498 Request for Relief from Code Case N-770-1, Subsection 2400 and Table 1 Inspection Frequency of Reactor Vessel Cold Leg Nozzle to Safe-end Welds (Relief Request RR-ENG-3-17)" (NOC-AE-14003194) (ML14337A044)

In the referenced letter, STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) submitted a Relief Request regarding Code Case N-770-1, Subsection 2400 and Table 1 Inspection Frequency of Reactor Vessel Cold Leg Nozzle to Safe-end Welds in accordance with the provisions of 10 CFR 50.55a(a)(3)(ii). The purpose of the relief request was to extend the Code Case N-770-1 inspections by one cycle, approximately 18 months. STPNOC withdraws the Relief Request.

There are no commitments in this letter.

If there are any questions, please contact Rafael Gonzales at 361-972-4779, or me at 361-972-7030.

Michael Berg

Manager Design Engineering/

P. A. Leongeson for M. Berg NOCNOC 15028348 C. H. Georgeson

Testing and Programs

rig

STI: 34034358

CC:

(paper copy)

Regional Administrator, Region IV U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1600 East Lamar Boulevard Arlington, TX 76011-4511

Balwant K. Singal Senior Project Manager U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North (MS 8 B1) 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

NRC Resident Inspector U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: MN116 Wadsworth, TX 77483 (electronic copy)

Steve Frantz Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Balwant K. Singal U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

John Ragan Chris O'Hara Jim von Suskil NRG South Texas LP

Kevin Pollo Cris Eugster L. D. Blaylock CPS Energy

Peter Nemeth Crain Caton & James, P.C.

C. Mele John Wester City of Austin

Richard A. Ratliff Texas Department of State Health Services

Robert Free Texas Department of State Health Services