#### November 24, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO: Samuel Lee, Chief

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

FROM: Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager /RA/

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE NOVEMBER 24, 2014, PUBLIC

TELECONFERENCE MEETING TO DISCUSS OPEN ITEMS AND

OUTSTANDING ISSUES RELATING TO THE NUCLEAR

INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA, LLC., SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT,

UNITS 3 AND 4, COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION

On November 24, 2014, a Category 1 public teleconference was held between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and representatives of Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. (NINA). The meeting notice was issued on October 22, 2014, and was documented in the Agencywide Documents Access and Management System under accession number ML14295A071. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the NINA comments on the safety evaluation report (SER) to be presented to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) subcommittee on December 3, 2014, and the outstanding actions from previous ACRS subcommittee meetings. A list of attendees is provided as an enclosure.

The following topics were discussed, followed by its outcome:

### **Chapter 22.2 SER Comments**

NINA provided comments on the SER that will be presented to the ACRS subcommittee on December 3, 2014. These comments are editorial and typographic in nature and the staff agreed to these comments. Corrections had been made and the staff will advise the ACRS subcommittee, what and why the changes are made during the presentation. NINA also provided names of the staff that will attend the subcommittee meeting.

# Open Phase Condition at the Unit Auxiliary Transformer

Our EEEB staff is reviewing Dr. Stetkar's request to verify the presence of the isophase bus duct in the design of the South Texas Project (STP), Units 3 and 4, offsite power systems. This topic will be discussed with Dr. Stetkar and the subcommittee during the December 3, 2014, meeting.

# **ACRS Action Item 64**

NINA will provide an overview of the STP, Units 3 and 4, digital system design in the December 3, 2014, subcommittee meeting. The staff will conclude this action by explaining the review of the fire safe shutdown analysis review.

Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-8484, or via e-mail to <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Docket Nos.: 52-012, 52-013

Enclosure:

List of Attendees

cc w/encl: See next page

# **ACRS Action Item 64**

NINA will provide an overview of the STP, Units 3 and 4, digital system design in the December 3, 2014, subcommittee meeting. The staff will conclude this action by explaining the review of the fire safe shutdown analysis review.

Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-8484, or via e-mail to Tom.Tai@nrc.gov.

Docket Nos.: 52-012, 52-013

Enclosure: List of Attendees

cc w/encl: See next page

# **DISTRIBUTION**:

**PUBLIC** SLee, NRO LBetancourt, NRO LB2 R/F RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsNroLACSmith RidsOgcMailCenter RidsNroDnrlLb2 RidsOpaMailCenter RidsNroDnrl RFoster, NRO ADias, NRO DAndrukat, NRO JAshcraft, NRO IJung, NRO DTaneja, NRO

ADAMS Accession No.: ML14328A664 NRO-002

OFFICE	NRO/DNRL/LB2: LA	NRO/DNRL/LB2: PM
NAME	CMurphy	TTai
DATE	11/24/2014	11/24/2014

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

# **LIST OF ATTENDEES**

Public Teleconference Meeting with Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC., to Discuss Open Items and Outstanding Request for Additional Information Responses Relating to the South Texas Project Combined License Application Held on November 24, 2014

<u>NAME</u>	ORGANIZATION
L. Betancourt *	NRC
R. Foster *	NRC
T. Tai	NRC
A. Dias	NRC
D. Andrukat	NRC
I. Jung	NRC
J. Ashcraft	NRC
D. Taneja	NRC
S. Thomas	NINA
R. Scheide	NINA
C. Agura	TANE
Al Gutterman	Morgan Lewis

<sup>\*</sup>Participated via teleconference

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List cc:

(Revised 09/29/2014)

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483 Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

### <u>Email</u>

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindyrae\_52@yahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph\_Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner) Idblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.guinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)