# September 24, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO: Samuel Lee, Chief

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

FROM: Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager /RA/

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE SEPTEMBER 16, 2014, PUBLIC

TELECONFERENCE MEETING TO DISCUSS OPEN ITEMS AND OUTSTANDING REQUEST FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RESPONSES RELATING TO THE NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH

AMERICA, LLC., SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT, UNITS 3 AND 4,

COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION

On September 16, 2014, a Category 1 public teleconference was held between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and representatives of Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC. (NINA). The meeting notice was issued on September 3, 2014, and was documented in the Agencywide Documents Access and Management System under accession number ML14247A016. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the status of the remaining open items and outstanding request for additional information (RAI) responses related to the NINA Combined License Application. A list of attendees is provided as an enclosure.

The following topics were discussed, followed by its outcome:

### **Draft response to RAI 01.05-37**

NINA provided a draft response to RAI 01.05-37 addressing questions on security/safety interface under Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) Part 73.58. The NRC staff did not have any questions on the proposed response and NINA will formally issue the final response this week.

#### **FSAR Revision 11**

NINA informed that the next FSAR revision, Number 11, is ready to be issued in October 2014. The NRC staff requested NINA to ensure all confirmatory items in the RAI responses are included in Revision 11.

CONTACT: Tom Tai, NRO/DNRL

301-415-8484

S. Lee -2-

# Miscellaneous Items

The November 17, 2014, ACRS subcommittee date for Chapter 9 is no longer available to the STP project. The project is arranging to include Chapter 9 in the November 5, 2014, subcommittee meeting when Chapter 8.2S and Chapter 22.2 are presented.

The project is also discussing, with ACRS, the date for the full committee meeting. Presently, the first week of December 2014, and February 2015, are under consideration.

The next open item call is on September 30, 2014.

Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-8484, or via e-mail to <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

Enclosure:

List of Attendees

cc w/encl: See next page

S. Lee - 2 -

# Miscellaneous Items

The November 17, 2014, ACRS subcommittee date for Chapter 9 is no longer available to the STP project. The project is arranging to include Chapter 9 in the November 5, 2014, subcommittee meeting when Chapter 8.2S and Chapter 22.2 are presented.

The project is also discussing, with ACRS, the date for the full committee meeting. Presently, the first week of December 2014, and February 2015, are under consideration.

The next open item call is on September 30, 2014.

Please direct any inquiries to me at 301-415-8484, or via e-mail to <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

Enclosure: List of Attendees

cc w/encl: See next page

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

PUBLIC SLee, NRO LBetancourt, NRO LB2 R/F RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsNroDnrlLb2 RidsOpaMailCenter RidsNroDnrl VWilliams, NSIR LBetancourt, NRO RidsNroLACSmith RidsNroDnrlLb2 RidsOpaMailCenter JFrost, NSIR

WGott, NSIR

ADAMS Accession Nos: Pkg: ML14261A260

Memorandum: ML14261A259 List of Attendees: ML14261A415

OFFICE	NRO/DNRL/LB2: LA	NRO/DNRL/LB2: PM
NAME	CMurphy	TTai
DATE	09/24/2014	09/24/2014

**OFFICIAL RECORD COPY** 

NRO-002

CC:

Mr. Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
PO Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge
Matagorda County
Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 Seventh Street
Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566 Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

# COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

## COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

#### Email

awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham)

baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger)

cindyrae\_52@yahoo.com

cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman)

david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis)

donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan)

dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko)

ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns)

eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown)

erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant)

jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head)

jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins)

Joseph\_Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner)

karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden)

KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton)

Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler)

LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner)

ldblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock)

mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett)

maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb)

maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer)

media@nei.org (Scott Peterson)

MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel)

nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte)

Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple)

patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell)

Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter)

pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette)

rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense)

rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide)

RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell)

rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder)

sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett)

sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz)

smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head)

stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen)

Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler)

tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller)

Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn)

Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall)

wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino)

wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)