## September 17, 2014

MEMORANDUM TO: Samuel Lee, Chief

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

FROM: Luis Betancourt, Project Manager /RA/

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

SUBJECT: AUDIT PLAN FOR NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA, LLC.,

COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION, CONTAINMENT

HYDRODYNAMIC LOADS

On September 20, 2007, South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company submitted to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), a Combined License Application Final Safety Analysis Report (FSAR) to construct and operate two additional units (Units 3 and 4) based on the United States Advanced Boiling Water Reactor (ABWR) Certified Design Control Documents (DCD) at the South Texas Project Nuclear Power Plant site located in the county of Matagorda near Bay City, Texas. On January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America (NINA) became the primary applicant for the license for these two units. The NRC staff has identified a need to audit NINA's evaluation on the hydrodynamic loads because of an error on the suppression pool level that was identified by GE-Hitachi Nuclear Energy in the ABWR DCD analysis. The audit will take place at the Westinghouse Twinbrook office in Rockville, Maryland, from September 19, 2014, through October 10, 2014. A copy of the audit plan is enclosed.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

Enclosure: Audit Plan

cc w/encl: See next page

CONTACT: Luis D. Betancourt, NRO/DNRL

301-415-6146

MEMORANDUM TO: Samuel Lee, Chief

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

FROM: Luis Betancourt, Project Manager

Licensing Branch 2

Division of New Reactor Licensing

Office of New Reactors

SUBJECT: AUDIT PLAN FOR NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA, LLC.,

COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION, CONTAINMENT

HYDRODYNAMIC LOADS

On September 20, 2007, South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company submitted to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), a Combined License Application Final Safety Analysis Report (FSAR) to construct and operate two additional units (Units 3 and 4) based on the United States Advanced Boiling Water Reactor (ABWR) Certified Design Control Documents (DCD) at the South Texas Project Nuclear Power Plant site located in the county of Matagorda near Bay City, Texas. On January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America (NINA) became the primary applicant for the license for these two units. The NRC staff has identified a need to audit NINA's evaluation on the hydrodynamic loads because of an error on the suppression pool level that was identified by GE-Hitachi Nuclear Energy in the ABWR DCD analysis. The audit will take place at the Westinghouse Twinbrook office in Rockville, Maryland, from September 19, 2014, through October 10, 2014. A copy of the audit plan is enclosed.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 and 52-013

Enclosure: Audit Plan

cc w/encl: See next page

CONTACT: Luis D. Betancourt, NRO/DNRL

301-415-6146

**DISTRIBUTION:** 

PUBLICSLee, NROHWagage, NROSChakrabarti, NROLB2 R/FJMckirgan, NROJXu, NRORidsNroDnrlLB2

TTai, NRO RidsNroLACSmith RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

ADAMS Accession Nos.: Pkg. ML14255A420 Memo. ML14255A413 Enc. ML14258A036

NRO-002

OFFICE	DNRL/LB2/PM*	DNRL/LB2/LA	NRO/DSRA/SCVB /TR	NRO/DE/SEB2 / TR
NAME	LBetancourt	CMurphy	HWagage	SChakrabarti
DATE	09/11/2014	09/15/2014	09/16/2014	09/16/2014
OFFICE	NRO/DSRA/SCVB /BC	NRO/DE/SEB2 / BC	DNRL/LB2/LPM	
NAME	JMckirgan	JXu	TTai	
DATE	09/17/2014	09/16/2014	09/17/2014	

CC:

Mr. Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
PO Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566 Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

## COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

## COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

## Email

awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindvrae 52@vahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner) ldblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.guinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)