July 21, 2014

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the Commission,¹ I am transmitting the June 2014 monthly status report on the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) activities and utilization of unobligated carryover funds appropriated from the Nuclear Waste Fund. This report describes the NRC actions that were taken in June 2014 to address the remand by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in *In re Aiken County*, regarding the licensing process for the U.S. Department of Energy's Yucca Mountain license application.

Please feel free to contact me or Amy Powell, Acting Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776 if you have questions or need more information.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Allison M. Macfarlane

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

¹ Commissioner George Apostolakis did not participate; his term on the Commission ended June 30, 2014.

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Barbara Boxer Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator David Vitter

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Sessions The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Lamar Alexander