

Docket Nos. 50-400 and 50-261

> Mr. R. A. Watson Senior Vice President Nuclear Generation Carolina Power & Light Company Post Office Box 1551 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Dear Mr. Watson:

SUBJECT: PETITION ON THERMO-LAG - SHEARON HARRIS NUCLEAR POWER PLANT, UNIT 1 (TAC NO./(83881) AND H. B. ROBINSON STEAM ELECTRIC PLANT, UNIT NO. 2 (TAC NO./(83922)

Enclosed for your information is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission acknowledgement letter to the 2.206 Petition submitted by the Nuclear Information and Resource Service regarding Thermo-Lag fire resistant material. The NRC has concluded that the immediate suspension of the operating licenses for the units identified in the Petition, including the Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant, Unit 1, and H. B. Robinson Steam Electric Plant, Unit No. 2, are not warranted.

Also enclosed are copies of the initial petition and its addendum. No action is required on your part; the enclosures are being provided for informational purposes only.

Sincerely,

Orignal singed by:

Ngoc B. Le, Project Manager Project Directorate II-I Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosures: As stated

cc w/enclosures: See next page

OFC	(PDM21(ECA	PD(21, PM	PD 21; PM	PD \$1:D
NAME	PAnderson	NWebb:tms	NLe	EAdensam
DATE	9/10/92	9 / 10 / 92	9/11/92	9/11/92
OFFICIAL RECORD COPY				

FILENAME: HATHRMLG.LTR

Mr. R. A. Watson Carolina Power & Light Company

cc:

Mr. H. Ray Starling Manager - Legal Department Carolina Power & Light Company P. O. Box 1551 Raleigh, N.C. 27602

Mr. H. A. Cole Special Deputy Attorney General State of North Carolina P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Resident Inspector's Office H. B. Robinson Steam Electric Plant Route 5, Box 413 Hartsville, South Carolina 29550

Regional Administrator, Region II U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 101 Marietta Street, Suite 2900 Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Mr. Ray H. Chambers, Jr. General Manager H. B. Robinson Steam Electric Plant P. O. Box 790 Hartsville, South Carolina 29550

Public Service Commission State of South Carolina P. O. Drawer 11649 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Resident Inspector/Harris NPS c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Route 1, Box 315B New Hill, North Carolina 27562

Mr. Gerald E. Vaughn, Vice President Harris Nuclear Project Harris Nuclear Plant P. O. Box 165 New Hill, North Carolina 27562

H. B. Robinson Steam Electric Plant, Unit No. 2 Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant, Unit 1 Mr. Dayne H. Brown, Director Department of Environmental, Health and Natural Resources Div. of Radiation Protection P. O. Box 27687 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7687 Mr. Robert P. Gruber Executive Director Public Staff - NCUC P. O. Box 29520 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0520 Mr. C. R. Dietz Vice President Robinson Nuclear Department H. B. Robinson Steam Electric Plant P. O. Box 790 Hartsville, South Carolina 29550 Mr. Heyward G. Shealy, Chief Bureau of Radiological Health South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201 Mr. R. B. Starkey Vice President Nuclear Services Department Carolina Power & Light Company P. O. Box 1551 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Mr. C. S. Hinnant Plant General Manager Harris Nuclear Plant P. O. Box 165 New Hill, North Carolina 27562