June 23, 2014

Mr. Ronald A. Jones, Vice President New Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company 14368 State Highway 213 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3 — ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT RE: EMERGENCY PLAN REVISION TO COMPLY WITH EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS FINAL RULE (LAR 13-26) (TAC NO. RQ0411)

Dear Mr. Jones:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (Commission) has issued the enclosed Amendment No. 13 to Combined Licenses Nos. NPF-93 and NPF-94 for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station (VCSNS) Units 2 and 3, respectively. The amendment consists of changes to the VCSNS Units 2 and 3 Emergency Plan as described in the licensee's application dated December 17, 2013, and as revised by the letter dated March 26, 2014.

A copy of the related Safety Evaluation, which includes the evaluation of the amendment and exemption, is also enclosed. The notice of issuance of the amendment and the exemption documents included in this letter will be published in the *Federal Register*.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Denise L. McGovern, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 4 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No(s): 52-027 52-028

Enclosures:

- 1. Amendment No. 13 to NPF-93
- 2. Amendment No. 13 to NPF-94
- 3. Attachment to License Amendment No. 13 to NPF-93 and NPF-94
- 4. Safety Evaluation

cc: See next page

June 23, 2014

Mr. Ronald A. Jones, Vice President New Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company 14368 State Highway 213 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3 — ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT AND GRANTING OF EXEMPTION RE: EMERGENCY PLAN REVISION TO COMPLY WITH EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS FINAL RULE

(LAR 13-26) (TAC NO. RQ0411)

Dear Mr. Jones:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (Commission) has issued the enclosed Amendment No. 13 to Combined Licenses Nos. NPF-93 and NPF-94 for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station (VCSNS) Units 2 and 3, respectively. The amendment consists of changes to the VCSNS Units 2 and 3 Emergency Plan as described in the licensee's application dated December 17, 2013, and as revised by the letter dated March 26, 2014.

A copy of the related Safety Evaluation, which includes the evaluation of the amendment and exemption, is also enclosed. The notice of issuance of the amendment and the exemption documents included in this letter will be published in the *Federal Register*.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Denise L. McGovern, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 4 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No(s): 52-027

52-028

Enclosures:

DATE

1. Amendment No. 13 to NPF-93

2. Amendment No. 13 to NPF-94

6/19/14

3. Attachment to License Amendment No. 13 to NPF-93 and NPF-94

4. Safety Evaluation

cc: See next page

ADAMS Accession No.: ML14133A360-Package *via e-mail NRO-002

	OFFICE	DNRL/LB4:LA	DNRL/LB4: PM	NSIR/DPR/NRLB
	NAME	RButler	DMcGovern	KWilliams-MSR for:
	DATE	5/15/14	6/20/14	5/27/14
	OFFICE	OGC/AGCNRP	DNRL/LB4:BC	
	NAME	JMartin*	LBurkhart	

6/20/14

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3 — ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT AND GRANTING OF EXEMPTION RE: EMERGENCY PLAN REVISION TO COMPLY WITH EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS FINAL RULE

(LAR 13-26) (TAC NO. RQ0411) DATED JUNE 23, 2014

DISTRIBUTION:

Public

RidsNroDnrlLB4

RidsOgcMailCenter

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

RidsRgn2MailCenter

BAnderson

MDelligatti

FAkstulewicz

BBavol

DMcGovern

DJaffe

MSutton

JBeardley

PMoulding

SBurnell

KThomas (NSIR)

RLukes

JMartin

RJoshi

AJohnson (NRO)

RJackson, RII

RReyes

DBarss

MErnstes

COL SCE&G – VC Summer Mailing List cc:

(Revised 05/13/2014)

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company MC D304 220 Operation Way Cayce, SC 29033-3172

Chairman Fairfield County Council Drawer 60 Winnsboro, SC 29180

Ms. Shannon Bowyer Hudson Office of Regulatory Staff State of South Carolina 1401 Main Street Suite 900 Columbia, SC 29201

Ms. Gidget Stanley-Banks Director Allendale County EPA 426 Mullberry Street Allendale, SC 29810

Page 1 of 3

Email

abynum@scana.com (Al Bynum) amonroe@scana.com (Amy Monroe) andy.barbee@scana.com (Andy Barbee) APAGLIA@Scana.com (Al Paglia) APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) April.Rice@scana.com (April Rice) arice@scana.com (April R. Rice) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) bedforbi@westinghouse.com (Brian Bedford) Bill.Jacobs@gdsassociates.com (Bill Jacobs) charles.baucom@cbi.com (Charles T. Baucom) christina.barnett@scana.com (Christina Barnett) collinlj@westinghouse.com (Leslie Collins) CumminWE@Westinghouse.com (Edward W. Cummins) cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) DCRM-EDMS@SCANA.COM delongra@westinghouse.com (Rich DeLong) dgriffin@scana.com (Donna S. Griffin) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) ewingja@westinghouse.com (Jerrod Ewing) fbelser@regstaff.sc.gov hutchiwe@westinghouse.com (William Hutchins) jarchie@scana.com (Jeffrey B. Archie) jenkinse@dhec.sc.gov (Susan Jenkins) iflitter@regstaff.sc.gov Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karlg@att.net (Karl Gross) kinneyrw@dhec.sc.gov (Ronald Kinney) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) kwaugh@impact-net.org (Kenneth O. Waugh) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) majames@regstaff.sc.gov (Anthony James) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) mcintyba@westinghouse.com (Brian McIntyre) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) paul.mothena@scana.com (Paul Mothena) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette)

COL SCE&G – VC Summer Mailing List

porterhj@dhec.sc.gov (Henry Porter) randall@nexusamllc.com (Randall Li) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) Ronald.Jones@scana.com (Ronald Jones) russpa@westinghouse.com (Paul Russ) rwink@ameren.com (Roger Wink) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sburdick@morganlewis.com (Stephen Burdick) sbyrne@scana.com (Stephen A. Byrne) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) shudson@regstaff.sc.gov (Shannon Hudson) solleyda@dhec.sc.gov (David Solley) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) TGATLIN@scana.com (Thomas Gatlin) threatsj@dhec.sc.gov (Sandra Threatt) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) TomClements329@cs.com (Tom Clements) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) vcsnrc@scana.com (NRC Senior Resident Inspector Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) weave1dw@westinghouse.com (Doug Weaver) William.Cherry@scana.com (William Cherry) wmcherry@santeecooper.com (Marion Cherry)