#### OFFICIAL USE ONLY - PROPRIETARY INFORMATION



# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 10, 2014

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs STP Units 3 and 4 Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC 122 Jackson Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

SUBJECT: NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA'S STP UNITS 3 and 4 COMBINED

LICENSE APPLICATION - SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT WITH NO OPEN

ITEMS FOR CHAPTER 22, "REQUIREMENTS RESULTING FROM FUKUSHIMA NEAR-TERM TASK FORCE RECOMMENDATIONS"

Dear Mr. Head:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff is preparing a safety evaluation (SE) with no open items (OIs) for Chapter 22 of the STP Units 3 and 4 Combined License Application (COLA) submitted by South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) on September 20, 2007. As of January 24, 2011, Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) became the lead applicant for STP Units 3 and 4. As such, NINA assumed responsibility for design, construction, and licensing of STP Units 3 and 4.

The staff's SEs with no OIs for Chapter 22, "Requirements Resulting from Fukushima Near-Term Task Force Recommendations", will be provided to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) subcommittee to support upcoming meetings of the ACRS subcommittee, scheduled to be held on April 9, 2014.

The enclosed SEs with no OIs are being provided only to NINA for review of factual accuracy and of proprietary information pursuant to Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) 2.390 "Public Inspections, Exemptions, Requests for Withholding." The staff understands that the enclosed SEs may contain information for which exemption from public disclosure has been sought or approved or any factual errors. The NRC will withhold the enclosed SE from public disclosure for ten business days from the date of this letter to allow you the opportunity to redact and to verify such exempt information or any factual errors. If within that ten day period, you do not request that all or portions of the SEs be withheld from public disclosure, the enclosure will be made available for public inspection through the NRC Public Document Room and the Publicly Available Records component of NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) and placed on the NRC's public web page for this application.

Document transmitted herewith contains sensitive unclassified information. When separated from the enclosure, this document is "DECONTROLLED."

### OFFICIAL USE ONLY - PROPRIETARY INFORMATION

- 2 -

If you have any questions or comments concerning this matter, I can be reached at (301) 415-8484 or via e-mail address at <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 3 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No. 52-012

52-013

Enclosure: As stated

cc: w/o encl. see next page

#### OFFICIAL USE ONLY - PROPRIETARY INFORMATION

- 2 -

If you have any questions or comments concerning this matter, I can be reached at (301) 415-8484 or via e-mail address at <a href="mailto:Tom.Tai@nrc.gov">Tom.Tai@nrc.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Tom Tai, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 3 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No. 52-012

52-013

cc: w/o encl. see next page

## **DISTRIBUTION**:

PUBLIC FAkstulewski, NRO RJenkins, NRO SGreen, NRO TTai, NRO RidsNroOd RidsNroDivisionBranch RidsNroDnrl

ADAMS Accession Numbers: ML14019A420 NRO-002

OFFICE	DNRL/LB3/PM	DNRL/LB3:LA	DNRL/LB3:LPM
NAME	TTai	SGreen	TTai
DATE	3/10/14	3/10/14	3/10/14

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List cc:

(Revised 12/17/2013)

Mr. Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
PO Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Comm. on Env. Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566 Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Terry Parks
Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Division
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

# COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

## Email

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindyrae\_52@yahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph\_Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) LCJoiner@ninallc.net (Lindsey Joiner) Idblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.guinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino)

wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)