**Charles R. Pierce** Regulatory Affairs Director Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc.

40 Inverness Center Parkway Post Office Box 1295 Birmingham, Alabama 35201

Tel 205.992.7872 Fax 205.992.7601



NL-14-0304

February 26, 2014

Docket Nos.: 50-321 50-348 50-424

50-366 50-364 50-425 72-36 72-42 72-1039

ATTN: Document Control Desk Director, Division of Spent Fuel Storage and Transportation Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

> Joseph M. Farley Nuclear Plant – Units 1 and 2 Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant – Units 1 and 2 Vogtle Electric Generating Plant – Units 1 and 2 Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation Annual Radioactive Effluent Release Report

## Ladies and Gentlemen:

In accordance with 10 CFR 72.44(d)(3), Southern Nuclear Operating Company (SNC) hereby submits the annual report specifying the quantity of each of the principal radionuclides released to the environment in liquid and gaseous effluents during the period of operation of the Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation (ISFSI) in the previous calendar year for Joseph M. Farley Nuclear Plant (Farley), Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Plant (Hatch), and the Vogtle Electric Generating Plant (Vogtle).

By the design of the seal welded storage canisters of the ISFSI, there are no plausible effluent release pathways. Periodic surveillances and radiological surveys of and around the facilities performed during the year confirm that the canister and overpack assemblies are performing as designed. The effluent releases from the ISFSIs at Farley, Hatch, and Vogtle for the 2013 calendar year are zero.

This letter contains no NRC commitments. If you have any questions, please contact Ken McElroy at (205) 992-7369.

Respectfully submitted,

C. R. Pierce

Regulatory Affairs Director

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission NL-14-0304 Page 2

## CRP/TWS/lac

## cc: Southern Nuclear Operating Company

Mr. S. E. Kuczynski, Chairman, President & CEO

Mr. D. G. Bost, Executive Vice President & Chief Nuclear Officer

Ms. C. A. Gayheart, Vice President - Farley

Mr. D. R. Vineyard, Vice President - Hatch

Mr. T. E. Tynan, Vice President - Vogtle 1&2

Mr. B. L. Ivey, Vice President - Regulatory Affairs

Mr. D. R. Madison, Vice President – Fleet Operations

RType: CFA04.054; CHA02.004; CVC7000

## U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Mr. V. M. McCree, Regional Administrator

Mr. R. E. Martin, NRR Project Manager - Hatch; Vogtle 1&2

Mr. G. E. Miller, NRR Project Manager - Farley

Mr. E. D. Morris, Senior Resident Inspector - Hatch

Mr. L. M. Cain, Senior Resident Inspector - Vogtle 1&2

Mr. P. K. Niebaum, Senior Resident Inspector - Farley

Mr. J. R. Sowa, Resident Inspector - Farley