UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Paul S. Ryerson, Chairman Dr. Paul B. Abramson Dr. Gary Arnold

In the Matter of

TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

(Watts Bar Unit 2)

Docket No. 50-391-OL

ASLBP No. 09-893-01-OL-BD01

July 17, 2013

ORDER (Granting Motion to Withdraw Contention 7)

This proceeding concerns the application of the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) for a license to operate a second reactor unit at the Watts Bar Nuclear Generating Station in Rhea County, Tennessee. One admitted contention—Contention 7—is pending.

On July 15, 2013, Intervenor Southern Alliance for Clean Energy (SACE) submitted an unopposed motion to withdraw Contention 7.¹ SACE asserts that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Staff's recently-issued Final Environmental Impact Statement is responsive to the majority of concerns raised in Contention 7, and that any remaining concerns are best addressed outside of the adjudicatory process.² Accordingly, for good cause shown, SACE's unopposed motion is granted.

¹ Southern Alliance for Clean Energy's Unopposed Motion to Withdraw Contention 7 (July 15, 2013) at 1.

² See id. at 1-2.

A motion to admit one other contention, concerning the vacatur of the NRC's Waste Confidence Rule, is currently being held in abeyance, at the Commission's direction, pending further order of the Commission.³ This adjudicatory proceeding therefore remains open.

It is so ORDERED.

THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

/RA/

Paul S. Ryerson, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

/RA/

Dr. Paul B. Abramson ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

/**RA**/

Dr. Gary Arnold ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland July 17, 2013

³ <u>See</u> Licensing Board Order (Holding Waste Confidence Contention in Abeyance) (Aug. 9, 2012); <u>Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Project, LLC</u> (Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant, Unit 3), <u>et al.</u>, CLI-12-16, 76 NRC 63, 68-69 (slip op. at 6) (Aug. 7, 2012).

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

(Watts Bar Nuclear Plant, Unit 2)

Docket No. 50-391-OL

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **ORDER (Granting Motion to Withdraw Contention 7)** have been served upon the following persons by the Electronic Information Exchange.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop: T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Paul S. Ryerson, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>paul.ryerson@nrc.gov</u>

Paul B. Abramson Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>paul.abramson@nrc.gov</u>

Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>gary.arnold@nrc.gov</u>

James Maltese, Law Clerk E-mail: james.maltese@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the Secretary of the Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Hearing Docket E-mail: <u>hearingdocket@nrc.gov</u> U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop: O-15D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Edward L. Williamson, Esq. E-mail: <u>edward.williamson@nrc.gov</u> David E. Roth, Esq. E-mail: <u>david.roth@nrc.gov</u> Catherine Kanatas, Esq. E-mail: <u>catherine.kanatas@nrc.gov</u> Anita Ghosh, Esq. E-mail: <u>anita.ghosh@nrc.gov</u>

OGC Mail Center E-mail: <u>OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov</u>

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

OCAA Mail Center E-mail: <u>ocaamail@nrc.gov</u>

Docket No. 50-391-OL ORDER (Granting Motion to Withdraw Contention 7)

Tennessee Valley Authority Office of the General Counsel 400 W. Summit Hill Drive, WT 6A-K Knoxville, TN 37902

Edward J. Vigluicci, Esq. E-mail: <u>ejvigluicci@tva.gov</u> Harriet A. Cooper, Esq. E-mail: <u>hacooper@tva.gov</u> Christopher Chandler, Esq. E-mail: <u>ccchandler0@tva.gov</u> Blake J. Nelson, Esq. E-mail: <u>bjnelson@tva.gov</u>

Diane Curran, Esq. Southern Alliance for Clean Energy (SACE) Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP 1726 M Street N.W., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 E-mail: <u>dcurran@harmoncurran.com</u> Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP Counsel for Tennessee Valley Authority 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20004

Kathryn M. Sutton, Esg. E-mail: ksutton@morganlewis.com Paul M. Bessette, Esq. pbessette@morganlewis.com Raphael P. Kuyler, Esq. rkuyler@morganlewis.com Esther Park, Esg. esther.park@morganlewis.com Jonathan M. Rund, Esg. jrund@morganlewis.com Martin O'Neill, Esg. martin.oneill@morganlewis.com Anna Jones, Esq. anna.jones@morganlewis.com Stephen Burdick, Esq. sburdick@morganlewis.com Mary L. Freeze, Legal Secretary mfreeze@morganlewis.com Antoinette Walker, Legal Secretary awalker@morganlewis.com

[Original signed by Brian Newell] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 17th day of July 2013