The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed revised "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year (FY) 2012 Revision 1." The report was revised to update it. This submission is in accordance with Section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (Public Law 93-438) and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report abnormal occurrences (AOs) to Congress annually. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety. Appendix A presents the criteria established by the Commission to define AOs for the purpose of this report.

The enclosed AO report for FY 2012 describes four events involving NRC licensees and 18 events involving Agreement State licensees. The first event at an NRC-licensed facility involved an event of high safety significance at a commercial nuclear power plant. The other three NRC-licensee events were medical events as defined in NRC regulations. The first Agreement State event involved radiation exposure to an embryo/fetus, and the second event involved an exposure to a radiographer. The other 16 Agreement State events were medical events as defined in NRC regulations.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Allison M. Macfarlane

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator David Vitter

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Sessions

The Honorable Fred Upton
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Rodney P. Frelinghuysen Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Lamar Alexander

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko