July 1, 2013

Mr. Ronald A. Jones, Vice President New Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company 14368 State Highway 213 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3 — ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT AND GRANTING OF EXEMPTION RE: ADDITIONAL

ELECTRICAL PENETRATION ASSEMBLIES (LAR 12-01) (TAC NOS. RQ0300

AND RQ0301)

Dear Mr. Jones:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (Commission) has granted the enclosed Exemption and issued the enclosed Amendment No. 6 to Combined Licenses Nos. NPF-93 and NPF-94 for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station (VCSNS) Units 2 and 3, respectively. The amendment consists of changes to the updated final safety analysis report (UFSAR) for VCSNS Units 2 and 3 and Appendix C in response to your application dated August 29, 2012, and supplemented by letter dated February 11, 2013.

The exemption allows the implementation of changes to the UFSAR that depart from Tier 1 information in the AP1000 Certified Design Control Document as specified in License Amendment Request 12-01 and its supplement. The amendment adds four non-Class 1E electrical penetration assemblies and electrical penetration sleeves to the containment vessel and shield building.

A copy of the related Safety Evaluation, which includes the evaluation of the amendment and exemption, is also enclosed. The notice of issuance of the amendment and the exemption will be published in the *Federal Register*.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Denise L. McGovern, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 4 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No(s): 52-027 52-028

Enclosures:

- 1. Amendment No. 6 to NPF-93
- 2. Amendment No. 6 to NPF-94
- 3. Attachment to License Amendment No. 6 to NPF-93 and NPF-94
- 4. Safety Evaluation

cc: See next page

Mr. Ronald A. Jones, Vice President **New Nuclear Operations** South Carolina Electric & Gas Company 14368 State Highway 213 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3 — ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT AND GRANTING OF EXEMPTION RE: ADDITIONAL

ELECTRICAL PENETRATION ASSEMBLIES (LAR 12-01) (TAC NOS. RQ0300

AND RQ0301)

Dear Mr. Jones:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (Commission) has granted the enclosed Exemption and issued the enclosed Amendment No. 6 to Combined Licenses Nos. NPF-93 and NPF-94 for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station (VCSNS) Units 2 and 3, respectively. The amendment consists of changes to the updated final safety analysis report (UFSAR) for VCSNS Units 2 and 3 and Appendix C in response to your application dated August 29, 2012, and supplemented by letter dated February 11, 2013.

The exemption allows the implementation of changes to the UFSAR that depart from Tier 1 information in the AP1000 Certified Design Control Document as specified in License Amendment Request 12-01 and its supplement. The amendment adds four non-Class 1E electrical penetration assemblies and electrical penetration sleeves to the containment vessel and shield building.

A copy of the related Safety Evaluation, which includes the evaluation of the amendment and exemption, is also enclosed. The notice of issuance of the amendment and the exemption will be published in the Federal Register.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Denise L. McGovern, Senior Project Manager Licensing Branch 4 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No(s): 52-027

52-028

Enclosures:

1. Amendment No. 6 to NPF-93

- 2. Amendment No. 6 to NPF-94
- 3. Attachment to License Amendment No. 6 to NPF-93 and NPF-94
- 4. Safety Evaluation

cc: See next page ADAMS Accession No. MI 13135A322-Package

ADAMS Accession No.: ML13135A322-Package			*via e-mail	NRO-002
OFFICE	DNRL/LB4:LA	DNRL/LB4: PM	DNRL/EPB1:PM	DE/SEB1:BC
NAME	RButler	DMcGovern	MSutton	MShams
DATE	5/21/13	5/31/13	6/4/13	5/31/13
OFFICE	DSRA/SCVB:BC	NRR/DE/EEEB:BC	OGC/NLO	DNRL/LB4:BC
NAME	JMcKirgan	RMathew	MCarpentier	LBurkhart
DATE	5/31/13	6/6/13	6/27/13	7/1/13

SUBJECT: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION UNITS 2 AND 3—ISSUANCE OF

AMENDMENT AND GRANTING OF EXEMPTION RE: ADDITIONAL

ELECTRICAL PENETRATION ASSEMBLIES (LAR 12-01) (TAC NOS. RQ0300

AND RQ0301) DATED JULY 1, 2013

DISTRIBUTION:

Public

RidsNroDnrl

RidsNroDnrlLB4

RidsOgcMailCenter

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

RidsRgn2MailCenter

RJoshi

MTonacci

LBurkhart

BAnderson

DMcGovern

MSutton

JFuller

MErnstes

MShams

PMoulding

BTegeler

SBurnell

GKhouri

MBrown

VMarieliz

TFredette

TSteadham

TMartinez-Navedo

AGrady

JMartin

COL SCE&G – VC Summer Mailing List cc:

(Revised 05/09/2013)

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company MC D304 220 Operation Way Cayce, SC 29033-3172

Chairman
Fairfield County Council
Drawer 60
Winnsboro, SC 29180

Ms. Shannon Bowyer Hudson Office of Regulatory Staff State of South Carolina 1401 Main Street Suite 900 Columbia, SC 29201

Mr. George McKinney Director South Carolina EMD 1100 Fish Hatchery Road West Columbia, SC 29172

Ms. Gidget Stanley-Banks Director Allendale County EPA 426 Mullberry Street Allendale, SC 29810

Email

abynum@scana.com (Al Bynum) amonroe@scana.com (Amy Monroe) APAGLIA@Scana.com (Al Paglia) APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) April.Rice@scana.com (April Rice) arice@scana.com (April R. Rice) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) bedforbi@westinghouse.com (Brian Bedford) Bill.Jacobs@gdsassociates.com (Bill Jacobs) charles.baucom@cbi.com (Charles T. Baucom) christina.barnett@scana.com (Christina Barnett) CumminWE@Westinghouse.com (Edward W. Cummins) cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) DCRM-EDMS@SCANA.COM delongra@westinghouse.com (Rich DeLong) dgriffin@scana.com (Donna S. Griffin) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) ewingia@westinghouse.com (Jerrod Ewing) fbelser@regstaff.sc.gov gzinke@entergy.com (George Alan Zinke) hutchiwe@westinghouse.com (William Hutchins) jarchie@scana.com (Jeffrey B. Archie) jenkinse@dhec.sc.gov (Susan Jenkins) iflitter@regstaff.sc.gov Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karlg@att.net (Karl Gross) kinneyrw@dhec.sc.gov (Ronald Kinney) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) kwaugh@impact-net.org (Kenneth O. Waugh) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) mark.beaumont@wsms.com (Mark Beaumont) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) mcintyba@westinghouse.com (Brian McIntyre) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) porterhj@dhec.sc.gov (Henry Porter) randall@nexusamllc.com (Randall Li)

COL SCE&G – VC Summer Mailing List

RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) Ronald.Jones@scana.com (Ronald Jones) russpa@westinghouse.com (Paul Russ) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sburdick@morganlewis.com (Stephen Burdick) sbyrne@scana.com (Stephen A. Byrne) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) shudson@regstaff.sc.gov (Shannon Hudson) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) TGATLIN@scana.com (Thomas Gatlin) threatsj@dhec.sc.gov (Sandra Threatt) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) TomClements329@cs.com (Tom Clements) Vanessa.guinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) vcsnrc@scana.com (NRC Senior Resident Inspector Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) William.Cherry@scana.com (William Cherry) wmcherry@santeecooper.com (Marion Cherry)