May 9, 2013

- MEMORANDUM TO: Ronaldo V. Jenkins, Branch Chief Licensing Branch 3 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors
- FROM: Tom M. Tai, Senior Project Manager /**RA**/ Licensing Branch 3 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors
- SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF WEEKLY CONFERENCE CALL MEETING TO DISCUSS OPEN ITEMS AND OUTSTANDING REQUESTS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RESPONSES RELATING TO NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA'S SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT UNITS 3 AND 4 COMBINED LICENSE APPLICATION ON MAY 8, 2013

On Wednesday, May 8, 2013, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's staff

held a public conference call from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. with members of Nuclear Innovation

North America's (NINA). The purpose of the conference call was to discuss the status of the

remaining open items related to the NINA Combined License Application.

CONTACT: Tom M. Tai, NRO/DNRL/LB3 (301) 415-8484

R. Jenkins

Discussion Topic	Discussion Outcome
 Comprehensive Vibration Assessment Program (CVAP) – November 27-29, 2012 audit items 	WEC/NINA confirmed that all audit actions identified in the November 2012 audit have been completed either at the conclusion of the audit, or provided in the revised WCAPs and RAI 6644 responses.
2. Chapter 3.9.2 RAI (6644) responses	Staff reviewed the RAI responses and revised WCAPs on May 7, 2013 and the review has begun.
3. Appendix 3H and Chapter 3.9 comments on FSAR Revision 9	NINA acknowledged the comments and will process FSAR change notice to address these recommendations by staff. These are all editorial or administrative comments and will not affect the safety evaluation reports.
 July 9, 2013 ACRS subcommittee meeting 	The current plan for the July 9, 2013 ACRS meeting is to present Chapters 3.7 and 3.8 only. The remaining sections and subsections will be presented to ACRS at the same time as 3.9.2.

The list of participants for the meeting is included as enclosure.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 52-013

Enclosures: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

	Discussion Topic	Discussion Outcome
1.	Comprehensive Vibration Assessment Program (CVAP) – November 27-29, 2012 audit items	WEC/NINA confirmed that all audit actions identified in the November 2012 audit have been completed either at the conclusion of the audit, or provided in the revised WCAPs and RAI 6644 responses.
2.	Chapter 3.9.2 RAI (6644) responses	Staff reviewed the RAI responses and revised WCAPs on May 7, 2013 and the review has begun.
3.	Appendix 3H and Chapter 3.9 comments on FSAR Revision 9	NINA acknowledged the comments and will process FSAR change notice to address these recommendations by staff. These are all editorial or administrative comments and will not affect the safety evaluation reports.
4.	July 9, 2013 ACRS subcommittee meeting	The current plan for the July 9, 2013 ACRS meeting is to present Chapters 3.7 and 3.8 only. The remaining sections and subsections will be presented to ACRS at the same time as 3.9.2.

The list of participants for the meeting is included as enclosure.

Docket Nos.: 52-012 52-013

Enclosures: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC LB3 R/F Rjenkins, NRO Rfoster, NRO NRO_DNRL_LB3 RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsOgcMailCenter RidsNroDnrlLb3 RidsNroDnrl

ADAMS Accession No.: ML13129A300

NRO-002

OFFICE	PM:NRO/DNRL/LB3	LA:NRO/DNRL/LB3	LPM:NRO/DNRL/LB3
NAME	TTai	SGreen	GWunder
DATE	05/09/2013	05/09/2013	05/09/2013

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List cc:

Mr. Brian Almon Public Utility Commission William B. Travis Building PO Box 13326 1701 North Congress Avenue Austin, TX 78701-3326

Mr. Scott Head Manager, Regulatory Affairs NINA STP Units 3 & 4 122 West Way, Suite 405 Lake Jackson, TX 77566

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration Texas Comm. on Env. Quality MC-122 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Mr. Dennis Koehl CEO and CNO STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Mark A. McBurnett Chief Executive Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Innovation North America, LLC (NINA) 122 West Way, Suite 105 Lake Jackson, TX 77566 (Revised 04/15/2013)

Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Terry Parks Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Boiler Division P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347 COL – STP Nuclear – South Texas Mailing List

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814 COL – STP Nuclear – South Texas Mailing List

<u>Email</u>

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) baldeich@sbcglobal.net (Louis Eichenberger) cindyrae 52@yahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) (Donald Woodlan) donald.woodlan@luminant.com dwuokko@tane.toshiba.com (Dale Wuokko) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) gzinke@entergy.com (George Alan Zinke) jaagles@ninallc.net (Jim Agles) jeprice@ninallc.net (John Price) (Jerald G. Head) jerald.head@ge.com jetomkins@ninallc.net (Jim Tomkins) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) Idblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) leelton@ninallc.net (Loree Elton) mamcburnett@ninallc.net (Mark McBurnett) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) mark.beaumont@wsms.com (Mark Beaumont) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@bevondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) rhbense@ninallc.net (Dick Bense) rhscheide@ninallc.net (Dick Scheide) RJB@NEL.org (Russell Bell) rschrauder@tane.toshiba.com (Robert Schrauder) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) smhead@ninallc.net (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler)

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@ninallc.net (Bill Mookhoek)

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS OPEN ITEM CONFERENCE CALL May 8, 2013

Name	Organization
T. Tai	NRC
S. Chakrabarti	NRC
W. Mookhoek	NINA
S. Head	NINA
J. Price	NINA
R. Scheide	NINA
L. Elton	NINA
Y. Aoyagi	TANE
D. Wuokko	TANE
R. Quinn	Westinghouse
B. Maurer	Westinghouse