May 8, 2013

- MEMORANDUM TO: John Segala, Chief Licensing Branch 1 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors
- FROM: Perry Buckberg, Senior Project Manager /**RA**/ Licensing Branch 1 Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors
- SUBJECT: NOTICE OF FORTHCOMING PUBLIC MEETING WITH AREVA NP TO DISCUSS U.S. EPR DESIGN CERTIFICATION TECHNICAL ISSUE RESOLUTION
- DATE & TIME: May 30, 2013 1:00 P.M. to 3:00 P.M.
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Two White Flint North Building Room T07-A03 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852
- PURPOSE: AREVA NP will discuss with NRC staff the path toward resolving technical issues currently being evaluated by the staff, and emergent issues related to Final Safety Analysis Report (FSAR) changes.
- CATEGORY 1\*: This is a Category 1 Public Meeting. The public is invited to participate and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC staff before the meeting is adjourned. Proprietary information may be discussed at some point in this call. If so, the public portion of the meeting may be terminated before proprietary information is discussed. To attend or participate via telephone, please contact Perry Buckberg or David Jaffe by May 24, 2013, at the numbers or e-mail addresses below.

MEETING CONTACTS:	Perry Buckberg, NRO	David Jaffe, NRO
	301-415-1383	301-415-1439
	perry.buckberg@nrc.gov	david.jaffe@nrc.gov

\*The NRC Policy Statement, "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," effective May 28, 2002, applies to this meeting. The policy statement may be found on the NRC Web site, <u>www.nrc.gov</u>, and contains information regarding visitors and security. (67 *FR* 36920)

J. Segala	-2-	
PARTICIPANTS:	Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of New Reactors (NRO), and AREVA NP.	
	<u>NRC</u> P. Buckberg et al.	<u>AREVA NP</u> Dennis Williford, et al.
OTHER INFORMATION:	<ul> <li>P. Buckberg et al. Dennis Williford, et al.</li> <li>A toll-free telephone conference bridge line has been established for this meeting. Please inform the NRC meeting contacts listed above of your intention to attend or participate via telephone by May 24, 2013. For additional details, please contact one of the meeting contacts. The NRC provides reasonable accommodation to individuals with disabilities where appropriate. If you need a reasonable accommodation to participate in this meeting (e.g., a translator, handicapped accessibility) or need this meeting notice, or other information from the meeting in another format (e.g., Braille, large print, a language other than English), please notify the NRC meeting contacts. Determinations on requests for reasonable accommodations will be made on a case-by-case basis.</li> <li>Since meetings are sometimes canceled or rescheduled as a result of unforeseen circumstances such as severe weather, confirm the meeting schedule with the meeting contact.</li> </ul>	

Docket No.: 05200020

Enclosure: Meeting Agenda

cc: See next page

J. Segala	- 2 -	
PARTICIPANTS:	Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of New Reactors (NRO), and AREVA NP.	
	<u>NRC</u> P. Buckberg et al.	<u>AREVA NP</u> Dennis Williford, et al.
OTHER INFORMATION:	A toll-free telephone conference bridge this meeting. Please inform the NRC r of your intention to attend or participate 2013. For additional details, please co contacts. The NRC provides reasonable individuals with disabilities where appro- reasonable accommodation to participate translator, handicapped accessibility) of other information from the meeting in a large print, a language other than Engl meeting contacts. Determinations on r accommodations will be made on a case	neeting contacts listed above e via telephone by May 24, intact one of the meeting le accommodation to opriate. If you need a ate in this meeting (e.g., a or need this meeting notice, or inother format (e.g., Braille, ish), please notify the NRC equests for reasonable se-by-case basis.
	Since meetings are sometimes cancele of unforeseen circumstances such as s meeting schedule with the meeting cor	severe weather, confirm the

Docket No.: 05200020

Enclosure: Meeting Agenda

cc: See next page

## **DISTRIBUTION**:

JSegala PBuckberg JMcLellan RidsNroDnrlLb1 RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsOgcMailCenter RidsIOpaMailCenter

ADAMS Acc	ession No.: ML13123A	272 *via email	NRC-001
OFFICE	DNRL/LB1:PM*	DNRL/LB1:LA*	DNRL/LB1:PM
NAME	PBuckberg	JMcLellan	JSegala
DATE	05/06/2013	05/06/2013	05/08/2013

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

## AGENDA

# AREVA NP TO DISCUSS U.S. EPR DESIGN CERTIFICATION TECHNICAL ISSUE RESOLUTION

## U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint North Building, Room T07-A03 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

## May 30, 2013 1:00 P.M. to 3:00 P.M.

TIME	TOPIC	<u>LEAD</u>
1:00 P.M.	Introductory Remarks/Logistics	NRC/AREVA
1:10 P.M.	Background and Meeting Purpose Proprietary information identification	NRC/AREVA
1:15 P.M.	Discussion of EPR issues	NRC/AREVA
2:50 P.M.	Opportunity for Public Comment	NRC
3:00 P.M.	Adjourn	

DC AREVA - EPR Mailing List cc:

Dr. Charles L. King Licensing Manager, IRIS Project Westinghouse Electric Company Science and Technology Department 20 International Drive Windsor, CT 06095

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

Mr. Gary Wright, Director Division of Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Emergency Management Agency 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

#### DC AREVA - EPR Mailing List

### <u>Email</u>

alau@washdc.whitecase.com (Albie Lau) APH@NELorg (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) bgattoni@roe.com (William (Bill) Gattoni)) Brian.Vance@areva.com (Brian Vance) cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.hinds@ge.com (David Hinds) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) dennis.williford@areva.com (Dennis Williford) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) Gayle.Elliott@areva.com (Gayle Elliott) gcesare@enercon.com (Guy Cesare) george.honma.ext@areva.com (George Honma) greg.gibson@unistarnuclear.com (Greg Gibson) james.p.mcquighan@constellation.com (Jim McQuighan) james1.beard@ge.com (James Beard) jason.parker@pillsburylaw.com (Jason Parker) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) judy.romine@areva.com (Judy Romine) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) kwaugh@impact-net.org (Kenneth O. Waugh) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) Len.Gucwa.ext@areva.com (Len Gucwa) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) mark.beaumont@wsms.com (Mark Beaumont) mark.t.hunter@unistarnuclear.com (Mark Hunter) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) mcintyba@westinghouse.com (Brian McIntyre) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) mjcaverly@ppl.web.com (Michael Caverly) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) paul.gaukler@pillsburylaw.com (Paul Gaukler) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pbessette@morganlewis.com (Paul Bessette) pedro.salas@areva.com (Pedro Salas) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) rrsgarro@pplweb.com (Rocco Sgarro) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz) Sherry.Mcfaden@areva.com (Sherry McFaden)

### DC AREVA - EPR Mailing List

stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Steve.Graham@hse.gsi.gov.uk (Steve Graham) strambgb@westinghouse.com (George Stramback) Tiffany.Wills@areva.com (Tiffany Wills) tkkibler@scana.com (Tria Kibler) Tony.Robinson@areva.com (Tony Robinson) trsmith@winston.com (Tyson Smith) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) vijukrp@westinghouse.com (Ronald P. Vijuk) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) whorin@winston.com (W. Horin)