# UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC. Docket No. 50-293-LR

### ASLBP No. 12-917-05-LR-BD01

#### ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29, 1972, published in the <u>Federal Register</u>, 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (1972), and the Commission's regulations, <u>see</u>, <u>e.g.</u>, 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.300, 2.309, 2.313, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

#### ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC. (Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station)

A Licensing Board is being established to consider a petition filed on March 8, 2012 by Jones River Watershed Association and by Pilgrim Watch seeking leave to reopen the record and request a hearing. Petitioners filed a correction and supplement to their petition on March 15, 2012. The petition pertains to the January 25, 2006 application from Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. to renew the current operating license for Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station, which expires on June 8, 2012, for an additional twenty years. The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Ann Marshall Young, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Paul B. Abramson Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Richard F. Cole Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the

NRC E-filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in August 2007 (72 Fed. Reg. 49,139).

The Commission has requested that the Board issue a decision on the motion to reopen

and request for hearing as expeditiously as possible, and no later than May 29, 2012. See

Memorandum from Andrew L. Bates, Acting Secretary, to E. Roy Hawkens, Chief Administrative

Judge, Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel (Mar. 30, 2012).

#### /RA/

E. Roy Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland,

this 2nd day of April 2012.

#### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of )
ENTERGY NUCLEAR GENERATION CO. )
AND )
ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC. )
(Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station) )

Docket No. 50-293-LR

## CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD** have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange (EIE) and by electronic mail as indicated by an asterisk\*.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Ann Marshall Young, Chair E-mail: <u>Ann.Young@nrc.gov</u>

Administrative Judge Richard F. Cole E-mail: <u>Richard.Cole@nrc.gov</u>

Administrative Judge Paul B. Abramson E-mail: <u>Paul.Abramson@nrc.gov</u>

James Maltese, Law Clerk James.maltese@nrc.gov U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop: O-15 D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Susan L. Uttal, Esq. E-mail: Susan.Uttal@nrc.gov Beth N. Mizuno, Esq. E-mail: beth.mizuno@nrc.gov Brian G. Harris, Esq. E-mail: brian.harris@nrc.gov Maxwell Smith, Esg. E-mail: maxwell.smith@nrc.gov Andrea Jones, Esg. E-mail: andrea.jones@nrc.gov Edward Williamson, Esq. E-mail: edward.williamson@nrc.gov Brian Newell, Paralegal E-mail: Brian.Newell@nrc.gov Lauren Woodall, Paralegal E-mail: lauren.woodall@nrc.gov

E-mail: <u>OGCMailCenter.Resource@nrc.gov</u>

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

E-mail: <u>OCAAMail.Resource@nrc.gov</u>

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Secretary of the Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

E-mail: <u>hearingdocket@nrc.gov</u>

#### Docket No. 50-293-LR ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Mail Stop: O11-F1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Lisa Regner\* Senior Project Manager Division of License Renewal E-mail: Lisa.Regner@nrc.gov Pillsbury, Winthrop, Shaw, Pittman, LLP 2300 N. Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20037-1128

David R. Lewis, Esq. E-mail: <u>david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com</u> Paul A. Gaukler, Esq. E-mail: <u>paul.gaukler@pillsburylaw.com</u> Jason B. Parker, Esq. E-mail: <u>jason.parker@pillsburylaw.com</u> Timothy Walsh, Esq. <u>timothy.walsh@pillsburylaw.com</u>

Entergy Nuclear 1340 Echelon Parkway Mail Stop M-ECH-62 Jackson, MS 39213

Terence A. Burke, Esq. E-mail: <u>tburke@entergy.com</u> Office of the Attorney General Environmental Protection Division One Ashburton Place, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Boston, MA 02108

Matthew Brock, Assistant Attorney General E-mail: <u>matthew.brock@ago.state.ma.us</u> Jennifer Faillace, Paralegal E-mail: jennifer.faillace@state.ma.us

Duxbury Emergency Management Agency 668 Tremont Street Duxbury, MA 02332

Kevin M. Nord, Fire Chief & Director\* E-mail: <u>nord@town.duxbury.ma.us</u>

Pilgrim Watch 148 Washington Street Duxbury, MA 02332

Mary E. Lampert, Director E-mail: <u>mary.lampert@comcast.net</u> Town of Plymouth MA Town Manager's Office 11 Lincoln Street Plymouth, MA 02360

Melissa Arrighi, ActingTown Manager\* E-mail: <u>marrighi@townhall.plymouth.ma.us</u>

Duane Morris, LLP Town of Plymouth MA 505 9<sup>th</sup> Street, NW, Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20004-2166

Sheila Slocum Hollis, Esq.\* E-mail: <u>sshollis@duanemorris.com</u>

## Docket No. 50-293-LR 3 ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Town of Duxbury Nuclear Advisory Committee 31 Deerpath Trl. North Duxbury, MA 02332

Rebecca Chin, Vice Chair\* E-mail: <u>rebeccajchin@hotmail.com</u> Jones River Watershed Association and Pilgrim Watch 61 Grozier Road Cambridge, MA 02138

Margaret E. Sheehan, Esq. E-mail: <u>meg@ecolaw.biz</u>

[Original signed by Nancy Greathead]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of April 2012