



Figure 2.5.1-305 Correlation between Morphtectonic Zones and Tectonic Terranes in Hispaniola





Notes:

Morphotectonic zones of Hispaniola

- 1. Zone 1, Old Bahama Trench (offshore)
- 2. Zone 2, Cordillera Septentrional-Samaná Peninsula
- 3. Zone 3, Cibao Valley
- 4. Zone 4, Massif du Nord-Cordillera Central
- 5. Zone 5, Northwestern-south-central zone (includes Plateau Central, San Juan Valley, Azua Plain, Sierra de Ocoa, Presqu'île du Nord-Ouest)
- 6. Zone 6, Cul-de-Sac Plain; Enriquillo Valley
- 7. Zone 7, Southern or Bahoruco Peninsula; Massif de la Selle; Massif de la Hotte; Sierra de Bahoruco
- 8. Zone 8, Eastern Peninsula; Cordillera Oriental; Seibo coastal plain
- 9. Zone 9, San Pedro Basin and north slope of the Muertos Trough
- 10. Zone 10, Beta Ridge and southern peninsula

Tectonic terranes (zones) of Hispaniola

- 1. Samaná
- 2. Puerto Plata-Pedro Garicía-Río San Juan
- 3. Altamira
- 4. Oro
- 5. Seibo
- 6. Tortue-Amina-Maimon
- 7. Loma Caribe-Tavera
- 8. Duarte
- 9. Tireo
- 10. (gray area) Triois Rivières-Peralta
- 11. Presqu'île du North-Ouest-Neiba
- 12. (ruled area) Selle-Hotte-Bahoruco

Fault abbreviations: RGFZ = Río Grande fault zone, SFZ = Septentrional fault zone, GFZ = Guacara fault zone, HAFZ = Hatillo fault zone, HFZ = Hispaniola fault zone, BFZ = Bonao fault zone, SJRFZ = San José Restauración fault zone, LPSJFZ = Los Pozos-San Juan fault zone, EPGFZ = Enriquillo-Plantain Garden fault zone Modified from Reference 566

Figure 2.5.1-306 Deleted



Figure 2.5.1-307 Simplified Geologic Map of Puerto Rico and the Islands of Vieques and Culebra

Note: SWP = Southwestern Igneous province southwest of South Fault Zone (SFZ) and the Eocene belt, CP = Central Igneous province (includes Vieques) between the South and North fault zones, NEP = Northeastern Igneous province (includes Culebra) north of the North fault zone (NFZ), U = Utuado pluton, SL = San Lorenzo pluton.







Note: Colors indicate shallow (red) to deep (blue) bathymetry. Source: Reference 581





Figure 2.5.1-310 Schematic Cross Section of the Puerto Rico Subduction Zone







Notes: WP = Windward Passage, MP = Mona Passage, AP = Anegada Passage.





Notes:

(a) Topographic and bathymetric relief

(b) IFW = Investigator fault, west; IFE = Investigator fault, east; WB = Whiting Basin; Muertos West and East correlate with Figure 2.5.2-310 Source: Reference 577

Figure 2.5.1-313 Faults in the Anegada Passage





Figure 2.5.1-314 Stratigraphic Columns from Five Wells Drilled on the Northern Nicaraguan Rise





Note: Detailed bathymetry shows the complexity and segmented character of the northern Nicaraguan Rise seafloor. Present-day carbonate banks (brick pattern) have remained areas of neritic carbonate production since the Late Eocene. Drowned banks and reefs observed in Pedro Channel and Walton Basin formed an east-west barrier along the northern Nicaraguan Rise, where continuous shallow-water environments prevailed from the Late Eocene to Early Miocene. Some of the carbonate banks and barriers (light gray pattern) subsided and drowned as late as the late Middle Miocene. ODP Site 1000 is located in the Pedro Channel.



Figure 2.5.1-316 Beata Ridge Bathymetry

Source: Reference 778











Notes: NOAM = North America, SOAM = South America Source: Reference 778



Figure 2.5.1-318 **Results of GPS-based Plate Coupling Studies** (Sheet 1 of 2)

Notes: (a) Fault slip rates (b) Fault slip deficits Source: Reference 643



Figure 2.5.1-318 Results of GPS-based Plate Coupling Studies (Sheet 2 of 2)

Notes:

(a) Fault coupling ratios, and comparisons between GPS velocities, model velocities, and fault slip rates.(b) Errors on coupling ratios



Figure 2.5.1-319 Northern and Southern Nicaragua Rise in the Caribbean Sea

The northern Nicaragua Rise is bounded on the north by the Cayman Trough and to the south by the Pedro Fracture Zone. The southern Nicaraguan Rise is bounded on the north by the Pedro Fracture Zone and to the south by the Hess Escarpment. Industry wells are indicated by open circles while ODP Site 1000 is identified with a closed circle. Contour interval is 1000 meters with the exception of the 100-meter isobath showing the carbonate banks (shaded) along the northern Nicaragua Rise.

Modified from: Reference 602



Figure 2.5.1-320 Modeled Seismogenic Faults near Western Puerto Rico

Figure 2.5.1-321 Maps showing Major Tectonic Features and GPS-based Plate Motions of Hispaniola





Figure 2.5.1-322 Regional Tectonic Map of Hispaniola and Puerto Rico

Note: Stippled regions are extensional zones. Black arrow in upper right shows relative North America-Caribbean Plate motion.