## AEC DISTRIBUTION FOR PART 50 DOCKET MATERIAL

(TEMPORARY FORM)

FILE: MISO

FROM: Iowa Electric Light & Power Co. Cedar Rapids, Iowa G. G. Hunt			DATE OF DOC 6-13-74		REC'D 4-74	LTR	TWX	RPT	OTHER
TO: James Keppler		ORIG 1 signed	cc	OTHER		SENT AEC PDR XXX SENT LOCAL PDR XXX		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
CLASS	UNCLASS	PROP INFO	INPUT	NO C	S REC'D		DOCKE'	r no:	· — · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
DESCRI	XXX			ENCL	1 OSURES:	5(	331		

Ltr furn info re surveillance test procedure #48A003, Standby Diesel Generators Fuel Tests and Data Collection....

# ACKNOWLEDGED DO NOT REMOVE

PLANT NAME: DUANE ARNOLD

		FOR ACTION/INFORMAT	OR ACTION/INFORMATION 6-26-7			
JBUTLER (L)	SCHWENCER (L)	ZIEMANN (L)	REGAN (E)			
W/9CYS CLARK (L)	W/ CYS STOLZ (L)	W/ CYS DICKER (E)	W/ CYS			
W/ CYS	W/ CYS WASSALLO (L)	W/ CYS KNIGHTON (E)	W/ CYS			
W/ CYS KNIEL (L)	W/ CYS PURPLE (L)	W/ CYS YOUNGBLOOD (E)	W/ CYS			
W/ CYS	W/ CYS	W/ CYS	W/ CYS			

1	IN	TERNAL DISTRIBUT	CION			
REG FILE	TECH REVIEW	DENTON	LIC ASST	A/T IND		
JAEC PDR	HENDRIE	GRIMES	DIGGS (L)	BRAITMAN		
<b>√</b> ogc · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	SCHROEDER	GAMMILL	GEARIN (L)	SALTZMAN		
MUNTZING/STAFF	MACCARY	KASTNER	GOULBOURNE (L)	B. HURT		
CASE	KNIGHT	BALLARD	KREUTZER (E)			
GIAMBUSSO	PAWLICKI	SPANGLER	LEE (L)	PLANS		
BOYD	SHAO		MAIGRET (L)	MCDONALD		
MOORE (L)(LWR-2)	STELLO	ENVIRO	REED (E)	CHAPMAN		
DEYOUNG (L)(LWR-1)	HOUSTON	MULLER	SERVICE (L)	DUBE w/input		
SKOVHOLT (L)	NOVAK	DICKER	SHEPPARD (L)	E. COUPE		
GOLLER (L)	ROSS	KNIGHTON	SLATER (E)			
P. COLLINS	IPPOLITO	YOUNGBLOOD	SMITH (L)	D. THOMPSON (2)		
DENISE	TEDESCO	REGAN	TEETS (L)	KLECKER		
KEG OPR	LONG	PROJECT MGR	WILLIAMS (E)	EISENHUT		
FILE & REGION (3)	LAINAS	ST. MARY	WILSON (L)			
MORRIS	BENAROYA	HARLESS				
STEELE	VOLLMER			_		
EXTERNAL DISTRIBUTION (1)						

LOCAL PDR CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA

(BUCHANAN)

- TIC (ABERNATHY)

1 - NSIC

1 - ASLB

(1)(2)(10)-NATIONAL LABS

1-ASLBP(E/W Bldg, Rm 529)

1-W. PENNINGTON, Rm E-201 GT

1-B&M SWINEBROAD, Rm E-201 GT 1-AGMED (RUTH GUSSMAN)

1-CONSULTANTS

NEWMARK/BLUME/AGBABIAN

1-PDR-SAN/LA/NY

1-BROOKHAVEN NAT LAB

1-G. ULRIKSON, ORNL

Rm B-127 GT

1-RD..MUELLER, Rm F-309 GT

- P. R. DAVIS - ACRS HOLDING Sent to Lic Asst Maigret 6-26-74

### IOWA ELECTRIC LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY

General Office

CEDAR RAPIDS. IOWA DUANE ARNOLD ENERGY CENTER

PALO, IOWANI I JUNE 13, 1974

DAEC - 74 -

Mr. James Keppler, Director Regulatory Operations Regional Office U. S. Atomic Energy Commission

799 Roosevelt Raod Glen Ellyn, Illinois

60137

License DPR-49, Duane Arnold Energy Center, SUBJECT:

Unit, Specification 4.8.A.l.d of Appendix A

to the Operating License.

REFERENCE: DAEC Surveillance Test Procedure No. 48A003,

Standby Diesel Generators Fuel Tests and

Data Collection.

FILE: A-110

A-117

Dear Mr. Keppler:

This letter is to report to you with respect to certain Technical Specification Surveillance requirements at the DAEC.

#### Problem

Specification 4.8.A.1.d states, "Once a month a sample of diesel fuel shall be checked for viscosity, water and sediment. The values for viscosity, water and sediment shall be within the acceptable limits specified in Table 1 of ASTM D975-68 and logged. On May 25, 1974, while reviewing the surveillance test results for April it was noted that Surveillance Test Procedure No. 48A003 covering the above noted requirement was not performed.

#### Investigation

The subject surveillance test prior to the month of April was performed by the Operations Group. Beginning in April the Radiation Protection Group (Chemistry) was to assume responsibility for performing the test, but due to a misunderstanding on when the transition was to take place the surveillance test was not performed.

### Corrective Actions

Personnel responsible for conducting surveillance tests are now knowledgeable of which tests are in their area of responsibility.

Very truly yours,

G. G. Hunt

Chief Engineer

Duane Arnold Energy Center

6/13/74

### OCS/GGH/bh

John O'Leary CC:

Washington, D.C.

C. W. Sandford

J. A. Wallace

E. L. Hammond

B. R. York

D. L. Wilson

H. W. Rehrauer - Chairman, Safety Committee

L. D. Root

J. R. Newman

B. L. Hopkins
O. C. Schellberg