HIGNFY Input

Fifth Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear Safety

The Fifth Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear Safety (CNS) took place at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna, Austria, from April 4-14, 2011.

The primary objective of the CNS is to achieve and maintain a high level of nuclear safety worldwide, through the enhancement of national measures and international cooperation. The Review Meeting is one of the principal means by which this objective is achieved.

The President of the Review Meeting was Vice Minister Li Ganjie from the People's Republic of China. The Vice-Presidents were Mr. Bill Borchardt, EDO, representing the U.S., and Mr. Patrick Majerus representing Luxembourg. Mr. Jack Grobe, our Deputy Director, served as Vice-Chair of Country Group 1. Sixty one (61) of seventy two (72) Contracting Parties participated in the Review Meeting.

The U.S. National Report was presented by Chairman Jaczko, the EDO, and Admiral James Ellis, Jr., President and CEO of the Institute for Nuclear Power Operations (INPO). The presentation was very well received. It highlighted our regulatory programs and actions taken by members of industry to ensure nuclear safety.

The Fifth Review Meeting was the first major international nuclear safety meeting following the Fukushima accident; thus, the Open Ended Working Group, chaired by the EDO, focused on establishing commitments to draw and act upon the lessons of the accident. In response, the Contracting Parties committed to (1) support the IAEA Ministerial conference scheduled for June 2011, (2) take prompt actions as lessons are learned, and (3) hold a CNS Extraordinary Meeting in August 2012.



Photo Caption:

The members of the U.S. delegation actively participated in the peer review process and monitored the 61 country presentations during the Review Meeting. From Left to Right: Travis Tate (NRR), Ken Karwoski (NRR), Veronica Rodriguez (NRR), Jack Grobe (NRR), Jack McHale (NRR), Margie Doane (OIP), Jeff Dehn (RES), Bill Borchardt (EDO), Chris Regan (NRR), David Skeen (NRR), Angela Jones (OIP), Lauren Quinones (NRR),

Omid Tabatabai (NRO), and Lauren Gibson (NRR). Not shown in the picture are: Chairman Jaczko, , Michael Marshall (OCM), John Tappert (NRO), Mark Shaffer (NRC Attaché), David Farr (INPO), James Ellis (INPO), and Jan Fladaboe, David Kenagy, and Patricia Metz (U.S. Department of State).