

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

**REGION IV** 

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

November 10, 2010

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH WOLF CREEK NUCLEAR OPERATING

**CORPORATION** 

FACILITY: Wolf Creek Generating Station

DOCKET: 05000482

DATE & TIME: Monday, November 29, 2010

1:00 p.m. (CDT)

LOCATION: Region IV Office

Training Conference Room 612 E Lamar, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011

PURPOSE: The purpose of the meeting is for Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating

Corporation to present an update on the initiatives being implemented to improve performance in the area of problem

identification & resolution.

CATEGORY: This is a Category 1 meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission after the business

portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission provides reasonable accommodation to individuals with disabilities where appropriate. If you need a reasonable accommodation to participate in this meeting, or need this meeting notice or the transcript of other information from the meeting in another format (e.g., Braille or large print), please notify the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's meeting contact listed below. Determinations on requests for reasonable accommodation will be made on a case-by-case

basis.

A telecommunications bridge will be available for the public. The number of lines is limited and interested parties should contact the

NRC's meeting contact listed below for directions.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

Elmo Collins, Regional Administrator

Kriss Kennedy, Director, Division of Reactor Projects

Troy Pruett, Acting Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects

Anton Vegel, Acting Director, Division of Reactor Safety

Don Allen, Chief, Reactor Projects Branch B Chris Long, Senior Resident Inspector **UTILITY** 

Matt Sunseri, President & Chief Executive Office

Russell Smith, Plant Manager

Steve Koenig, Manager Corrective Action Diane Hooper, Supervisor Licensing

MEETING CONTACT: Don Allen, Branch Chief

Project Branch B (817) 276-6574 Don.Allen@nrc.gov CC:

Tim Sipe, Chairman Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Kimberly Robrahn Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Larry Crotts
Coffey County Commissioner
110 South 6th Street
Burlington, KS 66839

Bob Saueressig Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Fred Rowley, Vice Chairman Coffey County Commissioner 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Russel Stukey, Coffey County Emergency Preparedness 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Randy Rogers, Sheriff Coffey County Sheriff's Dept. 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

The Honorable Rick Raymer Mayor, City of Burlington City Hall P.O. Box 207 Burlington, KS 66839

The Honorable Bill Freemen Mayor, City of LeRoy 713 Main Street LeRoy, KS 66857

The Honorable Mark Petterson Mayor, City of New Strawn City Hall P.O. Box 922 New Strawn, KS 66839-0922 The Honorable Larry Kelley Mayor, City of Gridley P.O. Box 182 Gridley, KS 66852

The Honorable Craig Meader Mayor, City of Waverly P.O. Box 308 Waverly, KS 66871

The Honorable Ed Fisher Mayor, City of Lebo P.O. Box 14 Lebo, KS 66856-0014

Dave Beck Allen County Emergency Preparedness Coordinator Allen County Courthouse P.O. Box 433 Iola, KS 66749

Rick Frevbert Lyon County Emergency Preparedness Coordinator 425 Mechanic St. Emporia, KS 66801

Gary Benjamin
Anderson County Emergency
Preparedness Coordinator
315 Orange Street
Garnett, KS 66032

Sheila Dale Osage County Emergency Manager P. O. Box 281 Lyndon, Kansas 66451

Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway SE, Suite 100 Atlanta, GA 30339

Vice President Operations/Plant Manager Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corporation P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Jay Silberg, Esq.
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
2300 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037

Supervisor Licensing Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corporation P.O. Box 411 Burlington, KS 66839

Chief Engineer Utilities Division Kansas Corporation Commission 1500 SW Arrowhead Road Topeka, KS 66604-4027

Office of the Governor State of Kansas Topeka, KS 66612-1590

Attorney General 120 S.W. 10th Avenue, 2nd Floor Topeka, KS 66612-1597

County Clerk Coffey County Courthouse 110 South 6th Street Burlington, KS 66839

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Bureau of Air and Radiation Kansas Department of Health and Environment 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Chief, Technological Hazards
Branch
FEMA, Region VII
9221 Ward Parkway
Suite 300
Kansas City, MO 64114-3372

E-Mail To:

**NRC Attendees** 

PMNS Resource, Mtg Announcement Coordinator

Elmo Collins, RA

Kriss Kennedy, D:DRP

Anton Vegel, D:DRS

Troy Pruett, DD:DRP

Mark Haire, C:DRS/OB

Sue Bogle (OEWEB Resource)

OEMAIL, D/OE

Margie Kotzalas, RIV OEDO Coordinator

Jack Giessner, RIV OEDO Coordinator

Paul Bonnett, NRR/DIRS/IPAB

Balwant Singal, Project Manager, NRR

Don Allen, Branch Chief, PBB

Rick Deese, Senior Project Engineer, PBB

Greg Tutak, Project Engineer, PBB

Chris Long, Senior Resident Inspector

Charles Peabody, Resident Inspector

Victor Dricks, Region IV PAO

Ray Kellar, Region IV Enforcement Specialist

Lucy Owen, Region IV RA Administrative Assistant

Anita Tannenbaum, Region IV RA Administrative Assistant

Deborah Harrison, Region IV DRP Administrative Assistant

Shirley Allen, Region IV DRS Administrative Assistant

Kimberly Brewton, Region IV DRS Administrative Assistant

Dana Lackey, Region IV DRP Administrative Assistant

Tracy Karl. Region IV DRS Administrative Assistant

Dawn Yancey, Region IV DRP Administrative Assistant

Bub Mueller, IRMB

Phil Longdo, Receptionist

Ann Mattila, Security Advisor

Jenny Weil, OCA

mortensengk@INPO.org

Lara Uselding, Region IV PAO

Bill Maier, Region IV RSLO

Karla Fuller, Region IV RC

William Jones, Region IV ACES

Verlyn Jenkins, Region IV DRP Administrative Assistant

Denise Freeman, Region IV DNMS Administrative Assistant

Earnestine Clay, DRMA, TL

Harold McKelvey, IRMB

SUNSI Review Completed: <u>Yes</u> ADAMS: 

✓ Yes ☐ No Initials: <u>RWD</u>

✓ Publicly Available ☐ Non-Publicly Available ☐ Sensitive ✓ Non-Sensitive

RIV:SPE:DRP/B	C:DRP/B	RSLO	PAO
RWDeese	DBAllen	WAMaier	VLDricks
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/
11/10/10	11/10/10	11/10/10	11/10/10

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

T=Telephone

E=E-mail

F=Fax