October 14, 2010

Mr. Scott Head, Manager Regulatory Affairs STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: FINAL SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT FOR THE STP NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY AMENDMENT TO THE ADVANCED BOILING WATER REACTOR DESIGN CERTIFICATION REVIEW

Dear Mr. Head:

This letter is to inform you that the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff (NRC) has completed the final safety evaluation report (SER) for the STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) Amendment to the Advanced Boiling Water Reactor (ABWR) Design Certification for Aircraft Impact submitted by STPNOC on June 30, 2009.

The enclosed SER is being provided to STPNOC for your information and will be submitted to the Commission in preparation for rulemaking. The SER has also been placed in the public document room and has been made publically available in ADAMS (ML102710198) and on the public website. NRC staff issuance of this SER does not constitute a commitment to issue the design certification, or in any way affect the authority of the Commission in any rulemaking proceeding pursuant to Subpart H of *Title 10 of the Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) Part 2 and Subpart B to 10 CFR Part 52.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

David B. Matthews, Director Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No. 52-001

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation Report: The STP Nuclear Operating Company Amendment to the ABWR Design Certification

cc w/o encls: See next page

October 14, 2010

Mr. Scott Head, Manager Regulatory Affairs STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: FINAL SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT FOR THE STP NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY AMENDMENT TO THE ADVANCED BOILING WATER REACTOR DESIGN CERTIFICATION REVIEW

Dear Mr. Head:

This letter is to inform you that the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff (NRC) has completed the final safety evaluation report (SER) for the STP Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) Amendment to the Advanced Boiling Water Reactor (ABWR) Design Certification for Aircraft Impact submitted by STPNOC on June 30, 2009.

The enclosed SER is being provided to STPNOC for your information and will be submitted to the Commission in preparation for rulemaking. The SER has also been placed in the public document room and has been made publically available in ADAMS (ML102710198) and on the public website. NRC staff issuance of this SER does not constitute a commitment to issue the design certification, or in any way affect the authority of the Commission in any rulemaking proceeding pursuant to Subpart H of *Title 10 of the Code of Federal Regulations* (10 CFR) Part 2 and Subpart B to 10 CFR Part 52.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

David B. Matthews, Director Division of New Reactor Licensing Office of New Reactors

Docket No. 52-001

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation Report: The STP Nuclear Operating Company Amendment to the ABWR **Design Certification** cc w/o encls: See next page ADAMS ACCESSION NO: ML102861564 NRO-002 OFFICE PM:BWR LA:BWR (bha) BC: BWR DD:DNRL NAME SJoseph BAbeywickrama MTonacci DMatthews DATE 10/12/2010 10/13/2010 10/13/2010 10/14/2010

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

SUBJECT: FINAL SAFETY EVALUATION REPORT FOR THE STP NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY AMENDMENT TO THE ADVANCED BOILING WATER REACTOR DESIGN CERTIFICATION REVIEW DATED OCTOBER 14, 2010

Distribution: PUBLIC NGE1 R/F

<u>Hard Copy</u> GWunder, NRO MTonacci, NRO

<u>E-Mail</u> SJoseph, NRO RidsNroDnrIBWR BAbeywickrama, NRO RidsOgcMailCenter RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsRgn2MailCenter COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List cc: Certrec Corporation

4200 South Hulen, Suite 422 Fort Worth, TX 76109

Mr. Brian Almon Public Utility Commission William B. Travis Building PO Box 13326 1701 North Congress Avenue Austin, TX 78701-3326

Ms. Michele Boyd Legislative Director Energy Program Public Citizens Critical Mass Energy and Environmental Program 215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003

Mr. Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 422 Ft. Worth, TX 76109

Mr. Ed Halpin President & CEO STP Nulcear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Ms. Susan M. Jablonski Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration Texas Comm. on Env. Quality MC-122 P.O. Box 13087 Austin, TX 78711-3087

Judge Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

(Revised 09/30/2010)

M. A. McBurnett VP, Oversight/Regulatory Affairs STP Nuclear Operating Company 4000 Avenue F, Suite A Bay City, TX 77414

Bill Mookhoek Licensing Supervisor STP Units 3 and 4 Project Electric Generating Station P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Peter G. Nemeth Crain, Caton & James, P.C. P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5005 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Mr. Terry Parks Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Boiler Division P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711

Kathy C. Perkins, RN, MBA Assistant Commissioner Division for Regulatory Services Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Policy Director Environmental and Natural Resources P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Mr. Frank M. Quinn 8 Oak Avenue Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2705 COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

Regional Administrator Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

Alice Hamilton Rogers, PE Inspections Unit Manager Texas Department of State Health Services P.O. Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Mr. Robert E. Sweeney IBEX ESI 4641 Montgomery Avenue Suite 350 Bethesda, MD 20814

Mr. Steve Winn STP Nuclear Operating Company 1301 McKinney, Suite 2300 Houston, TX 77010

Page 2 of 4

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

<u>Email</u>

APH@NEI.org (Adrian Heymer) awc@nei.org (Anne W. Cottingham) BrinkmCB@westinghouse.com (Charles Brinkman) chris.maslak@ge.com (Chris Maslak) cindyrae 52@yahoo.com cwaltman@roe.com (C. Waltman) david.lewis@pillsburylaw.com (David Lewis) Derlinda.Bailey@chquernsey.com (Derinda Bailey) donald.woodlan@luminant.com (Donald Woodlan) dwstillwell@stpegs.com (Bill Stillwell) ed.burns@earthlink.net (Ed Burns) eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com (Elza Brown) erg-xl@cox.net (Eddie R. Grant) gzinke@entergy.com (George Alan Zinke) jerald.head@ge.com (Jerald G. Head) jgutierrez@morganlewis.com (Jay M. Gutierrez) jim.riccio@wdc.greenpeace.org (James Riccio) Joseph Hegner@dom.com (Joseph Hegner) junichi uchiyama@mnes-us.com (Junichi Uchiyama) karen@seedcoalition.org (Karen Hadden) kdrichards@stpegs.com (Kevin Richards) KSutton@morganlewis.com (Kathryn M. Sutton) kwaugh@impact-net.org (Kenneth O. Waugh) Ichandler@morganlewis.com (Lawrence J. Chandler) Idblaylock@cpsenergy.com (Larry Blaylock) louis.eichenberger@ge.com (Louis Eichenberger) mamcburnett@stpegs.com (Mark McBurnett) Marc.Brooks@dhs.gov (Marc Brooks) maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com (Maria Webb) mark.beaumont@wsms.com (Mark Beaumont) Mark.Crisp@chguernsey.com (Mark Crisp) matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com (Matias Travieso-Diaz) maurerbf@westinghouse.com (Brad Maurer) media@nei.org (Scott Peterson) MSF@nei.org (Marvin Fertel) nirsnet@nirs.org (Michael Mariotte) Nuclaw@mindspring.com (Robert Temple) patriciaL.campbell@ge.com (Patricia L. Campbell) Paul@beyondnuclear.org (Paul Gunter) pshastings@duke-energy.com (Peter Hastings) RJB@NEI.org (Russell Bell) sabinski@suddenlink.net (Steve A. Bennett) sandra.sloan@areva.com (Sandra Sloan) sfrantz@morganlewis.com (Stephen P. Frantz)

COL - STP Nuclear - South Texas Mailing List

smhead@stpegs.com (Scott Head) stephan.moen@ge.com (Stephan Moen) Tansel.Selekler@nuclear.energy.gov (Tansel Selekler) tom.miller@hq.doe.gov (Tom Miller) Vanessa.quinn@dhs.gov (Vanessa Quinn) Wanda.K.Marshall@dom.com (Wanda K. Marshall) wayne.marquino@ge.com (Wayne Marquino) wemookhoek@stpegs.com (Bill Mookhoek) william.maher@fpl.com (William Maher)