### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Alex S. Karlin, Chairman Dr. Anthony J. Baratta Dr. William M. Murphy

In the Matter of

PROGRESS ENERGY FLORIDA, INC.

(Combined License Application for Levy County Nuclear Power Plant, Units 1 and 2) Docket No. 52-029-COL, 52-030-COL

ASLBP No. 09-879-04-COL-BD01

August 20, 2010

ORDER (Granting Joint Motion for Extension of Time)

On August 19, 2010, Progress Energy Florida, Inc. filed a joint motion to extend the

deadline for filing motions for summary disposition of Contention 4 by forty (40) days (until

October 4, 2010) based on the issuance of the NRC Staff's Draft Environmental Impact

Statement on August 5, 2010.<sup>1</sup> The extension is requested in order to facilitate settlement

negotiations and the motion is joined in by all parties. Accordingly, the motion is granted.

### FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

/**RA**/

Alex S. Karlin, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland August 20, 2010

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Joint Motion for Extension of Time to File a Motion for Summary Disposition on Contention 4 (Aug. 19, 2010) at 1-2.

#### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

PROGRESS ENERGY FLORIDA, INC.

(Levy County Nuclear Power Plant Units 1 and 2)

(Combined License)

Docket Nos. 52-029-COL and 52-030-COL

# CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing LB ORDER (GRANTING JOINT MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME) have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange.

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: <u>ocaamail@nrc.gov</u>

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Alex S. Karlin, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>ask2@nrc.gov</u>

Anthony J. Baratta Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>Anthony.baratta@nrc.gov</u>

William M. Murphy Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>William.murphy@nrc.gov</u>

Megan Wright, Law Clerk E-mail: <u>megan.wright@nrc.gov</u>

Joshua A. Kirstein, Law Clerk E-mail: josh.kirstein@nrc.gov Office of the Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Hearing Docket E-mail: <u>hearingdocket@nrc.gov</u>

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP 2300 N. Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20037-1122 Counsel for Progress Energy Florida, Inc. John H. O'Neill, Esq. Robert B. Haemer, Esg. Ambrea Watts, Esq. Alison Crane, Esq. Michael G. Lepre, Esg. Jason P. Parker, Esq. Stefanie Nelson George, Esq. Stephen Markus E-mail: john.oneill@pillsburylaw.com robert.haemer@pillsburylaw.com; ambrea.watts@pillslburylaw.com alison.crane@pillsburylaw.com michael.lepre@pillsburylaw.com jason.parker@pillsburylaw.com stefanie.george@pillsburylaw.com stephen.markus@pillsburylaw.com

Docket Nos. 52-029-COL and 52-030-COL LB ORDER (GRANTING JOINT MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME)

Office of the General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-15D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Marian Zobler, Esq. Sara Kirkwood, Esq. Jody Martin, Esq. Michael Spencer, Esq. Kevin Roach, Esq. Joseph Gilman, Paralegal E-mail: marian.zobler@nrc.gov sara.kirkwood@nrc.gov jody.martin@nrc.gov michael.spencer@nrc.gov kevin.roach@nrc.gov jsg1@nrc.gov

Nuclear Information & Resource Service P.O. Box 7586 Asheville, NC 28802 Mary Olson, NIRS Southeast Regional Coordinator E-mail: maryo@nirs.org

Alachua County Green Party, Green Party of Florida P.O. Box 190

OGC Mail Center : OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

Alachua, FL Michael Canney, Co-Chair E-mail: alachuagreen@windstream.net

Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC 600 Grant Street, 44<sup>th</sup> Floor Pittsburg, PA 15219 Counsel for Westinghouse Electric Co., LLC Barton Z. Cowan, Esq. E-mail: teribart61@aol.com Nuclear Information Resource Service 6390 Carroll Avenue, #340 Takoma Park, MD 20912 Michael Mariotte, Executive Director E-mail: <u>nirsnet@nirs.org</u>

Ecology Party of Florida 641 SW 6<sup>th</sup> Avenue Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315 Cara Campbell, Chair Gary Hecker E-mail: levynuke@ecologyparty.org

[Original signed by Evangeline S. Ngbea]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 20<sup>th</sup> day of August 2010