UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Lawrence G. McDade, Chairman Dr. Kaye D. Lathrop Dr. Richard E. Wardwell

In the Matter of ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC. (Indian Point Nuclear Generating Units 2 and 3) Docket Nos. 50-0247-LR and 50-286-LR ASLBP No. 07-858-03-LR-BD01 August 12, 2010

<u>ORDER</u>

(Granting New York's Motion to Extend Deadline for Filing New Contentions)

On August 10, 2010, the State of New York filed a Motion to Extend Time in

Which to File New or Supplemental Contentions Concerning Entergy's Ninth Amendment

to the License Renewal Application.¹ The Board hereby grants New York's Motion. On

or before September 15, 2010, New York may file new or supplemental contentions

arising from Entergy's Ninth Amendment to the License Renewal Application concerning

embrittlement of reactor pressure vessel components.

It is so ORDERED.

FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD²

/RA/

Lawrence G. McDade, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland August 12, 2010

¹ State of New York's Motion to Extend Time in Which to File New or Supplemental Contentions Concerning Entergy's Ninth Amendment to the License Renewal Application (Aug. 10, 2010).

² Copies of this Order were sent this date by Internet e-mail to: (1) Counsel for the NRC Staff; (2) Counsel for Entergy; (3) Counsel for the State of New York; (4) Counsel for Riverkeeper, Inc.; (5) Manna Jo Green, the Representative for Clearwater; (6) Counsel for the State of Connecticut; (7) Counsel for Westchester County; (8) Counsel for the Town of Cortlandt; (9) Mayor Sean Murray, the Representative for the Village of Buchanan; and (10) Counsel for the New York City Economic Development Corporation.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC.

(Indian Point Nuclear Generating Station, Units 2 and 3) Docket Nos. 50-247-LR 50-286-LR

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ORDER (GRANTING NEW YORK'S MOTION TO EXTEND DEADLINE FOR FILING NEW CONTENTIONS) have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, or through NRC internal distribution.

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Lawrence G. McDade, Chair

Administrative Judge Richard E. Wardwell

Administrative Judge Kaye D. Lathrop 190 Cedar Lane E. Ridgway, CO 81432

Joshua A. Kirstein, Law Clerk

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the Secretary of the Commission Mail Stop O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop O-15D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Sherwin E. Turk, Esq. Beth N. Mizuno, Esq. David E. Roth, Esq. Brian Harris, Esq. Andrea Z. Jones, Esq. Michael G. Dreher, Esq. Karl Farrar, Esq. Brian Newell, Paralegal

Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING NEW YORK'S MOTION TO EXTEND DEADLINE FOR FILING NEW CONTENTIONS)

William C. Dennis, Esq. Assistant General Counsel Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. 440 Hamilton Avenue White Plains, NY 10601

Kathryn M. Sutton, Esq. Paul M. Bessette, Esq. Martin J. O'Neill, Esq. Counsel for Entergy Nuclear Operation, Inc. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Michael J. Delaney Vice President, Energy Department New York City Economic Development Corporation (NYCEDC) 110 William Street New York, NY 10038

Arthur J. Kremer, Chairman New York Affordable Reliable Electricity Alliance (AREA) 347 Fifth Avenue, Suite 508 New York, NY 10016 Andrew M. Cuomo, Attorney General John J. Sipos, Assistant Attorney General Mylan L. Denerstein Deputy Assistant Attorney General Division of Social Justice Janice A. Dean Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General of the State of New York The Capitol State Street Albany, New York 12224

Joan Leary Matthews, Esq. Senior Attorney for Special Projects New York State Department of Environmental Conservation 625 Broadway, 14th Floor Albany, New York 12233-5500

Robert D. Snook, Esq. Office of The Attorney General State of Connecticut 55 Elm Street P.O. Box 120 Hartford, CT 06141-0120

Stephen C. Filler, Board Member Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Inc. 330 South Broadway, Suite 222 Tarrytown, NY 10591

Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING NEW YORK'S MOTION TO EXTEND DEADLINE FOR FILING NEW CONTENTIONS)

Sean Murray, Mayor Kevin Hay, Village Administrator Village of Buchanan Municipal Building 236 Tate Avenue Buchanan, NY 10511-1298

Counsel for the Town of Cortlandt Thomas F. Wood, Esq. Daniel Riesel, Esq. Jessica Steinberg, J.D. Sive, Paget & Riesel, P.C. 460 Park Avenue New York, NY 10022

Elise N. Zoli, Esq. Goodwin Proctor, LLP Exchange Place 53 State Street Boston, MA 02109

FUSE USA John LeKay Heather Ellsworth Burns-DeMelo Remy Chevalier Bill Thomas Belinda J. Jaques 351 Dyckman Street Peekskill, New York 10566

Philip Musegaas, Esq. Deborah Brancato, Esq. Riverkeeper, Inc. 828 South Broadway Tarrytown, NY 10591 Manna Jo Greene, Environmental Director Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Inc. 112 Market Street Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

Nancy Burton, Esq. Connecticut Residents Opposed to Relicensing of Indian Point (CRORIP) 147 Cross Highway Redding Ridge, CT 06876

Gregory Spicer Assistant County Attorney Of Counsel to Robert F. Meehan Westchester County Attorney 148 Martine Avenue, 6th Floor White Plains, NY 10601

Westchester Citizens' Awareness Network (WestCan), Citizens Awareness Network, (CAN), et al Susan H. Shapiro, Esq. 21 Pearlman Drive Spring Valley, NY 10977

Richard L. Brodsky, Esq. Member of Assembly 92nd Assembly District, State of New York 5 West Main Street Suite 205 Elmsford, NY 10523 Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING NEW YORK'S MOTION TO EXTEND DEADLINE FOR FILING NEW CONTENTIONS)

Sarah L. Wagner, Esq. Legislative Office Building, Room 422 Albany, NY 12248

> [Original signed by Christine M. Pierpoint] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 12th day of August, 2010.