B. L. "Pete" Ivey Vice President Nuclear Development Support

Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc. 42 Inverness Center Parkway Post Office Box 1295 Birmingham, Alabama 35242

Tel 205.992.7619 Fax 205.992.5217



JUN 11 2010

Docket Nos.: 52-025

52-026

ND-10-1078 10 CFR 52 App. D

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission **Document Control Desk** Washington, DC 20555-0001

> Southern Nuclear Operating Company Vogtle Electric Generating Plant Units 3 and 4 Combined License Application Departure Report Update

#### Ladies and Gentlemen:

By letter dated March 28, 2008, Southern Nuclear Operating Company (SNC) submitted an application for combined licenses (COLs) for two Westinghouse AP1000 advanced passive pressurized water reactors, designated Vogtle Electric Generating Plant (VEGP) Units 3 and 4, at the VEGP site in Burke County, Georgia. Part 7 (Departures, Exemptions, and Variances) of the VEGP Units 3 and 4 COL Application contains the VEGP Departure Report. The VEGP Departure Report describes VEGP-specific departures from the AP1000 Design Control Document (DCD), Revision 17.

By letter ND-09-2001, dated December 11, 2009, SNC submitted an update to the VEGP Units 3 and 4 COL Application, including an update to Part 7, which contained an updated VEGP Departure Report.

The purpose of this letter is to update the VEGP Departure Report in accordance with paragraphs X.B.1 and X.B.3.b of Appendix D to 10 CFR Part 52. No technical additions, deletions, or changes to the VEGP Departure Report have been identified during the most recent six-month reporting period.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Mr. Wes Sparkman at (205) 992-5061.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ND-10-1078 Page 2 of 4

Mr. B. L. (Pete) Ivey states he is a Vice President of Southern Nuclear Operating Company, is authorized to execute this oath on behalf of Southern Nuclear Operating Company and to the best of his knowledge and belief, the facts set forth in this letter are true.

Respectfully submitted,

SOUTHERN NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY

B. L. (Pete) Ivey

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 11th day of June, 2010

Notary Public: Nancy Louise Henderson

My commission expires: March 23, 2014

BLI/GAB/dmw

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ND-10-1078 Page 3 of 4

## cc: Southern Nuclear Operating Company

Mr. J. H. Miller, III, President and CEO

Mr. J. A. Miller, Executive Vice President, Nuclear Development

Mr. J. T. Gasser, Executive Vice President, Nuclear Operations

Mr. D. H. Jones, Site Vice President, Vogtle 3 & 4

Mr. T. E. Tynan, Vice President - Vogtle

Mr. M. K. Smith, Technical Support Director

Mr. D. M. Lloyd, Vogtle 3 & 4 Project Support Director

Mr. C. R. Pierce, AP1000 Licensing Manager

Mr. M. J. Ajluni, Nuclear Licensing Manager

Mr. T. C. Moorer, Manager, Environmental Affairs, Chemistry and Rad. Services

Mr. J. D. Williams, Vogtle 3 & 4 Site Support Manager

Mr. J. T. Davis, Vogtle 3 & 4 Site Licensing Manager

Mr. W. A. Sparkman, COL Project Engineer

Document Services RTYPE: AR01.1053

File AR.01.02.06

### **Nuclear Regulatory Commission**

Mr. L. A. Reyes, Region II Administrator

Mr. F. M. Akstulewicz, Deputy Director Div. of Safety Systems & Risk Assessment

Mr. R. G. Joshi, Lead Project Manager of New Reactors

Ms. T. E. Simms, Project Manager of New Reactors

Mr. B. C. Anderson, Project Manager of New Reactors

Mr. M. M. Comar, Project Manager of New Reactors

Ms. S. Goetz, Project Manager of New Reactors

Mr. J. M. Sebrosky, Project Manager of New Reactors

Mr. D. C. Habib, Project Manager of New Reactors

Ms. D. L. McGovern, Project Manager of New Reactors

Ms. T. L. Spicher, Project Manager of New Reactors

Ms. M. A. Sutton, Environmental Project Manager

Mr. M. D. Notich, Environmental Project Manager

Mr. L. M. Cain, Senior Resident Inspector of VEGP 1 & 2

Mr. J. D. Fuller, Senior Resident Inspector of VEGP 3 & 4

### Georgia Power Company

Mr. T. W. Yelverton, Nuclear Development Director

Ms. A. N. Faulk, Nuclear Regulatory Affairs Manager

### Oglethorpe Power Corporation

Mr. M. W. Price, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Mr. K. T. Haynes, Director of Contracts and Regulatory Oversight

### Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia

Mr. J. E. Fuller, Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. S. M. Jackson, Vice President, Power Supply

### **Dalton Utilities**

Mr. D. Cope, President and Chief Executive Officer

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ND-10-1078 Page 4 of 4

# **Bechtel Power Corporation**

Mr. J. S. Prebula, Project Engineer Mr. R. W. Prunty, Licensing Engineer

# Tetra Tech NUS, Inc.

Ms. K. K. Patterson, Project Manager

# Shaw Stone & Webster, Inc.

Mr. C. A. Fonseca, Vogtle Project Manager

Mr. J. M. Oddo, Licensing Manager

Mr. D. C. Shutt, Licensing Engineer

## Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC

Mr. S. D. Rupprecht, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs & Strategy

Mr. N. C. Boyter, Consortium Project Director Vogtle Units 3 & 4

Mr. S. A. Bradley, Vogtle Project Licensing Manager

Mr. M. A. Melton, Manager, Regulatory Interfaces

Mr. R. B. Sisk, Manager, AP1000 Licensing and Customer Interface

Mr. D. A. Lindgren, Principal Engineer, AP1000 Licensing and Customer Interface

## **NuStart Energy**

Mr. R. J. Grumbir

Mr. E. R. Grant

Mr. P. S. Hastings

Mr. B. Hirmanpour

Mr. N. Haggerty

Ms. K. N. Slays

## Other NuStart Energy Associates

Ms. M. C. Kray, NuStart

Mr. S. P. Frantz, Morgan Lewis

Mr. J. A. Bailey, TVA

Ms. A. L. Sterdis, TVA

Mr. J. P. Berger, EDF

Mr. W. Maher, FP&L

Mr. P. Hinnenkamp, Entergy

Mr. G. D. Miller, PG&N

Mr. N. T. Simms, Duke Energy

Mr. G. A. Zinke, NuStart & Entergy

Mr. R. H. Kitchen, PGN

Ms. A. M. Monroe, SCE&G

Mr. T. Beville, DOE/PM