

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management QA: N/A
1551 Hillshire Drive DOCKET NUMBER 63-001
Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

MAY 2 1 2010

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk

Catherine Haney, Director
Office of Nuclear Material Safety and
Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
EBB-2B2
11545 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852-2738

SUSPENSION OF LICENSE APPLICATION TASKS

The Administration has determined that Yucca Mountain is not a workable option for a long-term repository for spent nuclear fuel and high-level waste and has not sought funding for the project in the fiscal year 2011 budget. On February 1, 2010, the Department filed a Motion with the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board's Construction Authorization Board (CAB) for an interim suspension of discovery as well as a stay of the construction authorization proceeding, other than addressing the CAB's questions from the January 21, 2010, Case Management Conference as well as other parties' written responses. The CAB granted the interim suspension of discovery on February 2, 2010, and on February 16, 2010, the CAB stayed the licensing proceeding until resolution of DOE's motion to withdraw its license application filed on March 3, 2010. The only actions not stayed by the CAB are the preservation and archiving of the Licensing Support Network (LSN) collections of the parties and interested governmental participants, as well as briefing related to DOE's motion to withdraw.

As a result, the Department has suspended all work on the tasks related to the licensing proceeding other than those necessary to comply with DOE's ongoing LSN obligations and to preserve those records and materials that are needed to maintain DOE's ability to participate in the proceeding if it were to resume.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (702) 794-5506, or by email to william_boyle@ymp.gov.

William J. Boyle, Director Regulatory Affairs Division

Office of Technical Management

Willia Begle

OTM:WJB-0307

MM5525

cc:

- J. C. Chen, NRC, Rockville, MD
- J. R. Davis, NRC, Rockville, MD
- R. K. Johnson, NRC, Rockville, MD
- L. E. Kokajko, NRC, Rockville, MD
- A. S. Mohseni, NRC, Rockville, MD
- J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV
- D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX
- N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD
- L. M. Willoughby, NRC, Las Vegas, NV
- W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX
- B. Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX
- B. Street, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX
- J. B. Ramsay, NARUC, Washington, DC
- R. McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC
- B. J. Garrick, NWTRB, Arlington, VA
- B. Breslow, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV
- H. D. McMaster, State of South Carolina, Columbia, SC
- A. A. Fitz, State of Washington, Olympia, WA
- T. R. Gottshall, Aiken County, Columbia, SC
- A. Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV
- I. Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV
- E. Mueller, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV
- R. Damele, Eureka County, Eureka, NV
- A. Lembke, Inyo County, Independence, CA
- C. Chapin, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV
- C. Simkins, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV
- L. Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV
- I. Zabarte, Native Community Action Council, Baker, NV
- D. Lacy, Nye County, Pahrump, NV
- P. R. Mahowald, Prairie Island Indian Community
- J. Kennedy, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe, Death Valley, CA
- M. Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV
- B. Byron, California Energy Commission, Sacramento, CA