

DENISE O. FORT

TONEY ANAYA GOVERNOR

DIRECTOR

## ENVIRONMENTAL IMPROVEMENT DIVISION

P.O. Sax 958, Santa Fa, New Maxico 97504-0968 

(505) 827-2948

RADIATION PROTECTION BUREAU

May 28, 1980

Ms. Colleen D. Kelley Environmental Supervisor Hecla Mining Company Box C-8000

Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-1931

RECEIVED MAY 3.0 1986 -S. Wuder Republic Commission Mail Bectton

BOKEFFE B May 3 0 1986 MAN SETTICH BELLYET CLEUE

Dear Ms. Kelley:

As you are aware, Governor Anaya signed a letter on March 18 requesting the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) assume licensing authority for uranium mills in New Mexico. The NRC recently voted to accept and reassert authority effective June 1, 1986. Therefore, after this date, the NRC will be responsible for managing your company's radioactive materials license #NM-You should contact Mr. Harry Pettengill at the NRC's Uranium Recovery Field Office in Denver (303-236-2805) concerning any future licensing matters. The mailing address there is

> U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region IV Uranium Recovery Field Office P.O. Box 25325 Denver, Colorado 80225

The State of New Mexico, through the EID Radiation Protection Bureau, will continue to be closely involved in uranium mill issues in New Mexico. We will work closely with the NRC to familiarize them with each license and will review major licensing actions. The Ground Water and Hazardous Waste Bureau will continue to be responsible for your company's Ground Water Discharge Permits under provisions of the New Mexico Water Quality Control Commission regulations. NRC has indicated that they will work closely with the Ground Water Bureau to avoid unnecessary duplication of requirements by licensees trying to meet both state WQCC regulations and federal ground water protection requirements.

7808170001 860528 PDR ADDCK 04008714

OFFICIAL DOCKET COPY

Licensing Authority
Page 2

If  $y_i$  i have any questions about the above matters, please feel free to call me at 827-2945.

Sincerely

strong of montoga

Eloy J. Montoya Project Manager Radiation Protection Bureau

EJM/cvg

CC: Denise Fort, Director, EID
Richard Holland, Deputy Director, EID
Mike Brown, Acting Bureau Chief, RPB
Werry Pettengild URFO, NRG
EID Bureau Chiefs