

Washington State Legislature PR 13 AM 9:09

RECEIVED

April 2, 2010

7, · - i

Michael T. Lesar Chief, Rulemaking and Directives Branch Office of Administration Mailstop TWB 05-BOIM U. S. Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-001 3/11/2010 75 FR 11572

Dear Mr. Lesar:

We strongly share our support of Energy Northwest's license renewal for Columbia Generating Station nuclear power plant, to extend the operating license through 2043.

For more than 25 years, Columbia has provided valuable electricity to the region and assisted in economic stability to the state by providing clean, affordable energy to more than a million Washington residents.

As energy demand increases and climate change becomes a significant public policy issue, a diverse mix of clean energy resources will be critical to meet increasing electricity needs. For these reasons, it is imperative to maintain the vast quantity of carbon-free and baseload power Columbia Generating Station provides.

We fully support Columbia receiving the 20-year license renewal from the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and encourage others to voice their support enabling the region to continue benefiting from this clean, affordable electricity.

Sincerely,

Signed by the following members of the Washington State Legislature:

SUNSI Review Complete Template = ADOL-013

E-RIDS= ADM-03

all = D. Doyle (did)

AVIDV. Taylor 15th District)a Karl DAN ROACH 318 Diotrict 9th District Susan Fagan CHARLES R ROSS 14th Krit Tearson 39th Jay Rodne 5th District Jay Kosne Joe Schmick 9th District Jac Schnik K DA from Puh 60 10 JAN ANGEL 26th Dist. Jan Angel Judith Warnick 13th Six. Julyllanck Mike Armstrona 12th Dist. Wille funtime Maureen S. Walsh 14 DIST. 42 mals Doug Erick sen Jon Campbell 21 Doch

Larry Crosse 4th Disci Joel Kretz Brad Klippert 8th Klezzoet Norm Johnson 14th Herm Jakonson Ferry R. Nealey 16th Cern R. Nealey CANY CONDOTTE 12th rep. Larry Heler 8th Rep. MATTHEWT SHEA 4 IH Norma Smith 10th Dankristransen 39% 1 Skip Priest 30th Debolt 20 Richard DeBolt In Attclume 2nd Jim McCone Sit Huhle 13th Bill Hinkle Bruce Chandler 15 To BRUCE CHANDLER

JOHN USOY 387H E. Brian E Blake 19th ly Timm Ormsby 3rd Pot Dean Takko 19th = 25-2 B.F. DAMMEISR CC 20th Ostrut Gory Abexander