Nature Resources Defense Guncil, Inc.

15 WEST 44TH STREET

NEW YORK, N.Y. 10036

212 869-0150

RELATED CORRESPONDENCE

November 18, 1975

Washington Office 917 15TH STREET, N.W. WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005 202 737-5000

EROD. & UTIL EAC. 50-29

Western Office 664 HAMILTON AVENUE PALO ALTO, CALIF. 94301 415 327-1080

TO: All Parties

Re: Hudson River Fishermen's Association v. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, No. 75-4212

This letter is to set forth petitioners' understanding of the oral rulings rendered by the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, November 18, 1975, on NRC's motion to dismiss the petition for review, or, alternatively, hold the petition in abeyance pending decision by the Commission and on petitioners' cross-motion for a stay of the decision pending decision by the Commission. The ruling is as follows:

Based on the representation of counsel for the NRC that no license would issue except on five days actual notice to all parties and petitioners in particular, and on Con Edison's and the NRC's representations that they would forego all procedural objections before the NRC on petitioners' motion for a stay, the Court ordered the following: (1) the appeal is to be held in abeyance pending decision by the Commission; (2) petitioners shall move within five days for a stay before the Commission, which motion neither Con Edison nor the NRC General Counsel will oppose on technical or procedural grounds, as, for example that the motion is too late; and (3) in all other respects the motions are denied.

Very truly yours, $\left| \right\rangle$

AllAdda Chalis Sarah Chasis Ross Sandler Nicholas A. Robinson Attorneys for Petitioners



BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Stephen P. Duggan Chairman. James Marshall Vice Chairman Dr. George M. Woodwell Vice Chairman Dr. Dean E. Abrahamson Mrs. Louis Auchincloss Boris I. Bittker Frederick A. Collins, Jr. Dr. Rene J. Dubos James B. Frankel Robert W. Gilmore Lady Jackson, D.B.E. Hamilton Kean Dr. Joshua Lederberg Anthony Mazzocchi Paul N. McCloskey, Jr. Michael McIntosh Eleanor Holmes Notion Owen Olpin Franklin E. Parker Dr. Gifford B. Pinchot Charles B. Rangel Robert Redford John R. Robinson Laurance Rockefeller J. Willard Roosevelt Whitney North Scymour, Jr.

Beatrice Abbott Duggan U.N. Representative

John H. Adams Executive Director

David Sive

₩<u>7</u>3 •• 73

8110310208 751118 PDR ADDCK 05000286 G PDR