

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS NEBRASKA-WESTERN IOWA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM

Omaha 4101 Woolworth Avenue Omaha NE 68105-1873

Lincoln 600 S 70th Street Lincoln NE 68510-2493

Grand Island 2201 N Broadwell Avenue Grand Island NE 68803-2196

In Reply Refer To:

December 21, 2009

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN. Document Control Desk Washington D.C. 20555

Re: In compliance of Technical Specification 6.7.2.2 Notification of level 1 and level 2 Personnel Changes for the Alan J. Blotcky Reactor Facility, License R-57, Docket # 50-131

The Reactor Safeguards Committee wishes to inform the NRC of the following changes in level 1 and 2 personnel:

Dr. Thomas Lynch as Chief Of Staff of the Omaha V.A. has been appointed to the position of Co-Chairman of the Reactor Safeguards Committee by letter of appointment from Mr. Al Washko CEO of the Omaha VA. Dr. Lynch meets the minimum qualifications for this appointment to the Reactor Safeguards Committee as stated in Technical Specification 6.2.1.2

Dr. Debra Romberger as Associate Chief of Staff Research has been appointed to the position of Chairman of the Reactor Safeguards Committee by letter of Appointment from Mr. Al Washko CEO of the Omaha VA. Dr. Romberger meets the minimum qualification for this appointment to the Reactor Safeguards Committee as stated in Technical Specification 6.2.1.2

Mr. Daniel McVicker has been appointed to the position of Reactor Director and will serve on the Reactor Safeguards Committee by letter of Appointment from Mr. Al Washko CEO of the Omaha VA. Mr. McVicker meets the minimum qualification for this appointment to the Reactor Safeguards Committee as stated in Technical Specification 6.2.1.2

Mr. Michael Christensen has been appointed to the position of Radiation Safety Officer for the Reactor Safeguards Committee by letter of Appointment from Mr. Al Washko CEO of the Omaha VA. Mr. Christensen meets the minimum qualification for this appointment to the Reactor Safeguards Committee as stated in Technical Specification 6.2.1.2

Dr. Debra Romberger

ACOS Research RSC Co-Chairman

> M006 M006

> > FOME

December 21, 2009

REACTOR SAFEGUARDS COMMITTEE

The following listed persons are appointed to serve as members of the Reactor Safeguards Committee:

	·	
Voting Lynch, Thomas Romberger, Debra M.D. Hamel, Frederick Ph.D. McVicker, Daniel Tuma, Dean Ph.D. Fennel, Ed	Chief of Staff, Co-Chair Associate Chief of Staff Research, Co-Chair Deputy ACOS, Research Electronic Technician, Reactor Director VA Scientist Former VA Electronic Technician	12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10
Ex-Officio Voting		•
Christensen, Michael	VA Radiation Safety Officer	12/09-12/10
Alternates		
Thiele, Geoffrey Ph.D. Bennett, Robert Ph.D. Nowling, Steve	VA Practicing Scientist VA Practicing Scientist Executive Director NEBRA	12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10 12/09-12/10

Al Washko Director

Distribution:

All Committee Members

Reactor Safeguards Committee