UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY

Docket Nos. 50-438-CP, 50-439-CP

ASLBP No. 10-896-01-CP-BD01

ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29, 1972, published in the Federal Register, 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (1972), and the Commission's regulations, see 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.105, 2.300, 2.313, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

Tennessee Valley Authority (Bellefonte Nuclear Plant, Units 1 and 2)

This proceeding concerns a Petition to Intervene submitted by the Blue Ridge
Environment Defense League, its chapter Bellefonte Efficiency and Sustainability Team, and the
Southern Alliance for Clean Energy in response to a Federal Register Notice published on
March 13, 2009 (74 Fed. Reg. 10,969) stating that any person adversely affected by the
Commission's determination to reinstate the construction permits for Bellefonte Nuclear Plant,
Units 1 and 2, to be located in Jackson County, Alabama, may request a hearing. The scope of
the hearing request "is limited to whether good cause exists for the reinstatement of the
[construction permits]" (ibid.; see also In the Matter of Tennessee Valley Authority (Bellefonte
Nuclear Plant, Units 1 and 2), CLI-10-06, 71 NRC ___ (slip op. at 6-7, 19 (Jan. 7, 2010)).

The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

G. Paul Bollwerk, III, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. Anthony J. Baratta
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. William W. Sager Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the NRC E-filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in August 2007 (72 Fed. Reg. 49,139).

/RA/

E. Roy Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland,

this 15th day of January 2010.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)	
TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY	,	Docket Nos. 50-438-CP
(Bellefonte Nuclear Power Plant - Units 1 and 2)) and 50-439 CF)	,
Offits 1 and 2))	

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD have been served upon the following persons by the Electronic Information Exchange (EIE) with additional service by email on persons marked with*.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop: T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

G. Paul Bollwerk, III, Chair Administrative Judge

E-mail: paul.bollwerk@nrc.gov

Dr. Anthony J. Baratta Administrative Judge E-mail: ajb5@nrc.gov

Dr. William W. Sager Administrative Judge

E-mail: william.sager@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop: O-15D21

Washington, DC 20555-0001

Edward Williamson, Esq. E-mail: elw2@nrc.gov
Andrea' Jones, Esq. E-mail: axi4@nrc.gov
Brian Newell, Paralegal E-mail: bpn1@nrc.gov
OGC Mail Center

E-mail: OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

David E. Roth, Esq.

E-mail: david.roth@nrc.gov Jeremy Suttenberg, Esq.

E-mail: <u>Jeremy.suttenberg@nrc.gov</u>

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

OCAA Mail Center

E-mail: ocaamail@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of the Secretary of the Commission
Mail Stop: O-16C1
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Hearing Docket

E-mail: hearingdocket@nrc.gov

Docket Nos. 50-438 and 50-439-CP ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP Counsel for Tennessee Valley Authority 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20004

Kathryn M. Sutton, Esq. ksutton@morganlewis.com Martin J. O'Neill, Esq.

E-mail: martin.oneill@morganlewis.com

Lawrence Chandler, Esq.

E-mail: lchandler@morganlewis.com Mary L. Freeze, Legal Secretary E-mail: mfreeze@morganlewis.com

Angela Perry

Angela.perry@morganlewis.com

Tennessee Valley Authority Office of the General Counsel 400 W. Summit Hill Drive, WT 6A-K Knoxville, TN 37902

Edward J. Vigluicci, Esq.
E-mail: ejvigluicci@tva.gov
Scott A. Vance, Esq.
E-mail: savance@tva.gov
Maureen H. Dunn, Esq.
E-mail: mhdunn@tva.gov
Maria V. Gillen, Esq.
mvgillen@tva.gov

Christopher Chandler, Esq. E-mail: ccchandler0@tva.gov

Blue Ridge Environmental Defense League, Inc. (BREDL) P.O. Box 88 Glendale Springs, NC 28629 Louis A. Zeller, Administrator and

Science Director

E-mail: bredl@skybest.com

Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC Counsel for Westinghouse Electric Company 600 Grant Street, 44th Floor Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Barton Z. Cowan, Esq. E-mail: teribart61@aol.com

Sara Barczak* Southern Alliance for Clean Energy 428 Bull Street Savannah, GA 31401

E-mail: sara@cleanenergy.org

[Original signed By Nancy Greathead]
Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 15th day of January 2010.