### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

#### ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Lawrence G. McDade, Chairman Dr. Kaye D. Lathrop Dr. Richard E. Wardwell

In the Matter of

Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR

ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC.

ASLBP No. 07-858-03-LR-BD01

(Indian Point Nuclear Generating Units 2 and 3)

September 14, 2009

<u>Order</u>

(Granting the NRC Staff's Motion for Extension of Time)

On September 11, 2009, the NRC Staff requested an extension of time within which to respond to a Motion for Summary Disposition filed by New York State regarding Contention 16/16A.<sup>1</sup> New York State, Riverkeeper, Inc., Hudson Sloop Clearwater, and the Applicant, Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. all have stated that they do not object to this request.<sup>2</sup>

The Board grants the request. The NRC Staff may file its response on or before October 13, 2009.

It is so ORDERED.

FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD<sup>3</sup>

/RA/

Lawrence G. McDade, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland September 14, 2009

.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> NRC Staff's Unopposed Request for an Extension of Time to Respond to the State of New York's Motion for Partial Summary Disposition of NYS Contention 16/16A (Sept. 11, 2009). <sup>2</sup> Id. at 5.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Copies of this Order were sent this date by Internet e-mail to: (1) Counsel for the NRC Staff; (2) Counsel for Entergy; (3) Counsel for the State of New York; (4) Counsel for Riverkeeper, Inc.; (5) Manna Jo Green, the Representative for Clearwater; (6) Counsel for the State of Connecticut; (7) Counsel for Westchester County; (8) Counsel for the Town of Cortlandt; (9) Mayor Alfred J. Donahue, the Representative for the Village of Buchanan; and (10) Counsel for the New York City Economic Development Corporation.

### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of	)	
ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC.	) Docket Nos. 50-247-LR ) 50-286-LR	
(Indian Point Nuclear Generating Station, Units 2 and 3)	) ) )	

### **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ORDER (GRANTING THE NRC STAFF'S MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME) have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, or through NRC internal distribution.

Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the Secretary of the Commission Mail Stop O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Lawrence G. McDade, Chair

Administrative Judge Richard E. Wardwell

Administrative Judge Kaye D. Lathrop 190 Cedar Lane E. Ridgway, CO 81432

Zachary S. Kahn, Law Clerk

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of the General Counsel
Mail Stop O-15D21
Washington, DC 20555-0001
Sherwin E. Turk, Esq.
Beth N. Mizuno, Esq.
David E. Roth, Esq.
Brian Harris, Esq.
Andrea Z. Jones, Esq.
Karl Farrar, Esq.
Brian Newell, Paralegal

## Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING THE NRC STAFF'S MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME)

William C. Dennis, Esq. Assistant General Counsel Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. 440 Hamilton Avenue White Plains, NY 10601 Andrew M. Cuomo, Attorney General
John J. Sipos, Assistant Attorney General
Mylan L. Denerstein
Deputy Assistant Attorney General
Division of Social Justice
Janice A. Dean
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
of the State of New York
The Capitol
State Street
Albany, New York 12224

Kathryn M. Sutton, Esq.
Paul M. Bessette, Esq.
Martin J. O'Neill, Esq.
Mauri T. Lemoncelli, Esq.
Counsel for Entergy Nuclear Operation, Inc.
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP
1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004

Joan Leary Matthews, Esq.
Senior Attorney for Special Projects
New York State Department
of Environmental Conservation
625 Broadway, 14<sup>th</sup> Floor
Albany, New York 12233-5500

Michael J. Delaney Vice President, Energy Department New York City Economic Development Corporation (NYCEDC) 110 William Street New York, NY 10038 Robert D. Snook, Esq.
Office of The Attorney General
State of Connecticut
55 Elm Street
P.O. Box 120
Hartford, CT 06141-0120

Arthur J. Kremer, Chairman New York Affordable Reliable Electricity Alliance (AREA) 347 Fifth Avenue, Suite 508 New York, NY 10016 Stephen C. Filler, Board Member Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Inc. 303 South Broadway, Suite 222 Tarrytown, NY 10591

# Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING THE NRC STAFF'S MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME)

Daniel E O'Neill, Mayor James Siermarco, M.S. Liaison to Indian Point Village of Buchanan Municipal Building 236 Tate Avenue Buchanan, NY 10511-1298 Manna Jo Greene, Environmental Director Hudson River Sloop Clearwater 112 Little Markey Street Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

Thomas F. Wood, Esq.
Town of Cortlandt
Daniel Riesel, Esq.
Jessica Steinberg, J.D.
Counsel for the Town of Cortlandt
Sive, Paget & Riesel, P.C.
460 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10022

Nancy Burton, Esq. Connecticut Residents Opposed to Relicensing of Indian Point (CRORIP) 147 Cross Highway Redding Ridge, CT 06876

Elise N. Zoli, Esq. Goodwin Proctor, LLP Exchange Place 53 State Street Boston, MA 02109 Justin D. Pruyne
Assistant County Attorney, Litigation Bureau
Of Counsel to Charlene M. Indelicato, Esq.
Westchester County Attorney
148 Martine Avenue, 6<sup>th</sup> Floor
White Plains, NY 10601

FUSE USA
John LeKay
Heather Ellsworth Burns-DeMelo
Remy Chevalier
Bill Thomas
Belinda J. Jaques
351 Dyckman Street
Peekskill, New York 10566

Westchester Citizens' Awareness Network (WestCan), Citizens Awareness Network, (CAN), et al Susan H. Shapiro, Esq. 21 Pearlman Drive Spring Valley, NY 10977

Philip Musegaas, Esq. Deborah Brancato, Esq. Riverkeeper, Inc. 828 South Broadway Tarrytown, NY 10591 Richard L. Brodsky Assemblyman 5 West Main Street Suite 205 Elmsford, NY 10523 Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR ORDER (GRANTING THE NRC STAFF'S MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME)

Sarah L. Wagner, Esq. Legislative Office Building, Room 422 Albany, NY 12248

[Original signed by Christine M. Pierpoint]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 14<sup>th</sup> day of September 2009