UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION LUMINANT GENERATION COMPANY LLC Docket Nos. 52-034-COL and 52-035-COL

ASLBP No. 09-886-09-COL-BD01

ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29, 1972, published in the <u>Federal Register</u>, 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (1972), and the Commission's regulations, <u>see</u> 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.300, 2.303, 2.309, 2.311, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

Luminant Generation Company LLC (Comanche Peak Nuclear Power Plant, Units 3 and 4)

This proceeding concerns a Petition to Intervene and Request for Hearing dated April 6, 2009 from the Sustainable Energy and Economic Development Coalition, et al., that was submitted in response to a February 5, 2009 Notice of Order, Hearing, and Opportunity To Petition for Leave To Intervene (74 Fed. Reg. 6177). Petitioners challenge the application filed by Luminant Generation Company LLC pursuant to Subpart C of 10 C.F.R. Part 52 for a combined license for Comanche Peak Nuclear Power Plant, Units 3 and 4, to be located in Somervell County, Texas.

The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Ann Marshall Young, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Gary S. Arnold Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Alice C. Mignerey
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the NRC E-Filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in August 2007 (72 Fed. Reg. 49,139).

/RA/

E. Roy Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland, this 4th day of May 2009.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)
LUMINANT GENERATION COMPANY, LLC) Docket Nos. 52-034-COL) and 52-035-COL
(Comanche Peak Nuclear Power Plant, Units 3 and 4))))

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange.

Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001
E-mail: ocaamail@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Ann Marshall Young, Chairman Administrative Judge E-mail: ann.young@nrc.gov

Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge E-mail: gxa1@nrc.gov

Alice C. Mignerey Administrative Judge E-mail: acm3@nrc.gov U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of the Secretary of the Commission
Rulemakings & Adjudications Staff
Mail Stop O-16C1
Washington, DC 20555-0001
E-mail: hearingdocket@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of the General Counsel
Mail Stop - O-15 D21
Washington, DC 20555-0001
Kathryn Winsberg, Esq.
Laura Goldin, Esq.
James P. Biggins, Esq.
Marcia J. Simon, Esq.
Susan Vrahoretis, Esq.
Sara Kirkwood, Esq.

E-mail:
klw@nrc.gov;
laura.goldin@nrc.gov
james.bigging@nrc.gov
mjs5@nrc.gov
susan.vrahoretis@nrc.gov
seb2@nrc.gov

OGC Mail Center : OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

Docket Nos. 52-034-COL and 52-035-COL ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004 Stephen Burdick, Esq. Steven P. Frantz, Esq. Jonathan M. Rund, Esq. Timothy P. Matthews, Esq. Martin O'Neill, Esq. Lisel J. Danjczek, Esq.

E-mail: sburdick@morganlewis.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com; jrund@morganlewis.com tmatthews@morganlewis.com martin.oneill@morganlewis.com Idanjczek@morganlewis.com

True Cost of Nukes 1067 W. Magnolia Fort Worth, TX 76014 John N. Fischer

E-mail: jnilefischer@sbcglobal.net

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Robert V. Eye, Esq. Kauffman & Eye 112 SW 6th Avenue, Suite 202 Topeka, Kansas 66603 E-mail: bob@kauffmaneye.com

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP 2300 N. Street, NW Washington, DC 20037-1122 Counsel for Progress Energy R. Budd Haemer, Esq. Jason B. Parker, Esq. Matias F.Travieso-Diaz, Esq. Maria D. Webb, Senior Energy Legal Analyst/Paralegal Coordinator E-mail:

robert.haemer@pillsburylaw.com jason.parker@pillsburylaw.com matias.travieso-diaz@pillsburylaw.com maria.webb@pillsburylaw.com

Sustainable Energy & Economic Development (SEED) Coalition
1303 San Antonio #100
Austin, Texas 78701
Eliza Brown, Clean Energy Advocate
E-mail: eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com

[Original signed by Nancy Greathead]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 4th day of May 2009