UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY

Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL

ASLBP No. 09-885-08-COL-BD01

ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29, 1972, published in the Federal Register, 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (1972), and the Commission's regulations, see 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.300, 2.303, 2.309, 2.311, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (South Texas Project Units 3 and 4)

This proceeding concerns a Petition for Intervention and Request for Hearing dated April 21, 2009 from the Sustainable Energy and Economic Development Coalition, et al., that was submitted in response to a February 20, 2009 Notice of Order, Hearing, and Opportunity to Petition for Leave to Intervene (74 Fed. Reg. 7934). Petitioners challenge the application filed by the South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company pursuant to Subpart C of 10 C.F.R. Part 52 for a combined license for the South Texas Project, Units 3 and 4, to be located in Matagorda County, Texas.

The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Michael M. Gibson, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Gary S. Arnold Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Randall J. Charbeneau
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the NRC E-Filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in August 2007 (72 Fed. Reg. 49,139).

/RA/

E. Roy Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland, this 1st day of May 2009.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA **NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION**

In the Matter of))
SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT NUCLEAR OPERATING COMPANY) Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL)
(South Texas Project Units 3 and 4))))

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD have been served upon the following persons by the Electronic Information Exchange.

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

E. Roy Hawkens, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: erh@nrc.gov

Anthony J. Baratta Administrative Judge E-mail: ajb5@nrc.gov

Charles N. Kelber Administrative Judge E-mail: cnk@nrc.gov Office of the General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop - O-15 D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Kathryn Winsberg, Esq. James P. Biggins, Esq. Sara Brock Kirkwood, Esq. Maxwell Smith, Esq. Erica LaPlante, Esq. Joseph Gilman, Paralegal E-mail: klw@nrc.gov;

james.biggins@nrc.gov seb2@nrc.gov jsg1@nrc.gov maxwell.smith@nrc.gov Erica.LaPlante@nrc.gov

OGC Mail Center: OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1

Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: ocaamail@nrc.gov

Office of the Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Hearing Docket

E-mail: hearingdocket@nrc.gov

Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004 Counsel for the Applicant Stephen J. Burdick, Esq. Steven P. Frantz, Esq. Alvin Gutterman, Esq. John E. Matthews, Esq. Mary Freeze, Assistant E-mail: sburdick@morganlewis.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com; agutterman@morganlewis.com imatthews@morganlewis.com mfreeze@morganlewis.com

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Diane Curran Harmon, Curran, Spielberg, & Eisenberg, LLP 1726 M Street N.W., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 E-mail: dcurran@harmoncurran.com

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Robert V. Eye, Esq. Kauffman & Eye 112 SW 6th Avenue. Suite 202 Topeka, Kansas 66603

John Corder 313 CR 912 Brazoria, TX 77422

E-mail: bob@kauffmaneye.com

E-mail: jcorder@brazoriainet.com

Sustainable Energy & Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Eliza Brown, Clean Energy Advocate 1303 San Antonio #100 Austin, Texas 78701 E-mail: eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com

Southwest Workers' Union Lanny Alan Sinkin, Esq. 1801 Westlake Drive #212 Austin, Texas 78746

E-mail: lanny.sinkin@gmail.com

[Original signed by Evangeline S. Ngbea] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 1st day of May 2009