

Entergy Operations, Inc. 1340 Echelon Parkway Jackson, Mississippi 39213-8298 Tel 601-368-5758

Bryan S. Ford Senior Manager, Nuclear Safety & Licensing

CNRO-2009-00002

March 4, 2009

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attn: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555

SUBJECT:

Relief Request CEP-ISI-011 For Third 120 Month Inservice Inspection

Interval

River Bend Station Docket No. 50-458 License No. NPF-47 Grand Gulf Nuclear Station

Docket No. 50-416 License No. NPF-29

Arkansas Nuclear One

Waterford 3 Steam Electric

Unit 1

Station

Docket No. 50-313 License No. DPR-51 Docket No. 50-382 License No. NPF-38

REFERENCES: 1.

Letter CNRO-2008-00016 from Bryan S. Ford, Entergy Operations Inc. to Document Control Desk, USNRC, "Relief Requests for Third 120 Month Inservice Testing Interval" dated May 20, 2008

 Letter dated February 5, 2009 from N. Kalyanam, USNRC to Bryan S. Ford, "Arkansas Nuclear One, Unit 1, Grand Gulf Nuclear Station, Unit 1, River Bend Station, Unit 1, and Waterford Steam Electric Station, Unit 3 – Request for Additional Information RE: Relief Request CEP-ISI-011 for Third 120-Month Inservice Testing Interval (TAC NOS, MD8826, MD8827, MD8828, and MD8829)

## Dear Sir or Madam:

In response to the Staff's Request for Additional Information from Reference 2 above, Entergy has elected to withdraw the request to use Code Case N-747 for the following reason:

Because this is a code case developed and published by the ASME, it is expected that the ASME will take action to address the Staff's questions to support eventual approval in

A047 MRR Regulatory Guide 1.147. Entergy has elected to work with the ASME in developing an industry response rather than pursuing a plant specific resolution to the questions.

If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact Bryan Ford at (601) 368- 5516.

This letter contains no new commitments.

Sincerely,

## **BSFWBB**

cc: Mr. T. A. Burke (ECH)

Mr. E. E. Collins, Regional Administrator, RIV

Mr. C. F. Lyon, Project Manager, GGNS, RBS

Mr. J. R. Douet (GGNS)

Mr. J. S. Forbes (ECH)

Mr. J. T. Herron (ECH)

Mr. K. Kalyanam, Project Manager, W-3

Mr. T. G. Mitchell (ANO)

Mr. M. Perito (RBS)

Mr. N. S. Reynolds (W&S)

Mr. L. J. Smith (Wise, Carter)

Mr. K. T. Walsh (W-3)

Mr. A. B. Wang, Project Manager, ANO

Mr. W. B. Abraham (GGNS) bcc:

Mr. A. D. Barfield (GGNS)

Mr. C.A. Bregar (ANO)

Ms. K. S. Cook (W-3)

Ms. S. S. Fey (W-3)

Mr. W. J. Fountain (RBS)

Mr. D. E. James (ANO)

Mr. D. N. Lorfing (RBS)

Ms. K. C. Maher (RBS)

Mr. R. J. Murillo (W-3)

Ms. C. L. Perino (GGNS)

Ms. D. S. Waldron (ANO)

Corporate File [ 20 ]