UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Alex S. Karlin, Chairman Dr. Richard E. Wardwell Dr. William H. Reed

In the Matter of

ENTERGY NUCLEAR VERMONT YANKEE.	Docket No. 50-271-LR
L.L.C.,	ASLBP No. 06-849-03-LR
and ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC.	January 26, 2009

(Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Station)

ORDER (Denying NEC Motion for Leave to File Reply)

The motion of the New England Coalition for leave to file a reply¹ is denied because

NEC failed to demonstrate compelling circumstances, as required by 10 C.F.R. § 2.323(c).

It is so ORDERED.

FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD²

/RA/

Alex S. Karlin, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland January 26, 2009

¹ New England Coalition's Motion for Leave to Reply to NRC Staff and Entergy Nuclear Vermont Yankee, L.L.C., and Entergy Nuclear) (sic) Operations, Inc.'s Answers to New England Coalition's Motion for Reconsideration of the Licensing Board's Partial Initial Decision (Jan. 14, 2009).

² Copies of this order were sent this date by Internet e-mail transmission to counsel for (1) Entergy Nuclear Vermont Yankee, L.L.C., and Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc.;
(2) the Department of Public Service of the State of Vermont and the New England Coalition of Brattleboro, Vermont; (3) the NRC Staff; and (4) the State of New Hampshire and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of
ENTERGY NUCLEAR VERMONT YANKEE, LLC,
and
ENTERGY NUCLEAR OPERATIONS, INC.

Docket No. 50-271-LR

(Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Station)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing LB ORDER (DENYING NEC MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE REPLY) have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, or through NRC internal distribution.

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Richard E. Wardwell Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Lloyd B. Subin, Esq. David E. Roth, Esq. Mary C. Baty, Esq. Susan L. Uttal, Esq. Jessica A. Bielecki, Esq. Brian Newell, Paralegal Office of the General Counsel O15D21 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001 Administrative Judge Alex S. Karlin, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge William H. Reed Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel 1819 Edgewood Lane Charlottesville, VA 22902

Sarah Hofmann, Esq. Director for Public Advocacy Department of Public Service 112 State Street - Drawer 20 Montpelier, VT 05620-2601 Docket No. 50-271-LR

LB ORDER (DENYING NEC MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE REPLY)

Matthew Brock Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Division Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 18th Floor Boston, MA 02108 Anthony Z. Roisman, Esq. National Legal Scholars Law Firm 84 East Thetford Rd. Lyme, NH 03768

Callie B. Newton, Chair Gail MacArthur Lucy Gratwick Town of Marlboro SelectBoard P.O. Box 518 Marlboro, VT 05344

David R. Lewis, Esq. Matias F. Travieso-Diaz, Esq. Elina Teplinsky, Esq. Blake J. Nelson, Esq. Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP 2300 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20037-1128

Robert L. Stewart New England Coalition 229 Kibbee Ext. Brookfield, Vermont 05036 Dan MacArthur, Director Town of Marlboro Emergency Management P.O. Box 30 Marlboro, VT 05344

Peter C. L. Roth, Esq. Senior Assistant Attorney General State of New Hampshire Office of the New Hampshire Attorney General 33 Capitol Street Concord, NH 03301

Alan A. Pemberton, Esq. Derron J. Blakely, Esq. Covington & Burling LLP Counsel for Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) 1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20004-2401 Docket No. 50-271-LR

LB ORDER (DENYING NEC MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE REPLY)

Raymond Shadis 37 Shadis Road P.O. Box 98 Edgecomb, Maine 04556 Raymond Shadis New England Coalition P.O. Box 545 Brattleboro, VT 05302

Ronald A. Shems, Esq. Karen Tyler, Esq. Andrew Raubvogel, Esq. Shems Dunkiel Kassel & Saunders, PLLC 91 College Street Burlington, VT 05401

[Original signed by Nancy Greathead]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland, this 26th day of January 2009